Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

akxey

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 8, 2009
i hav a new iphone 3GS. recently i JB it n installed firmware 3.0 using redsnow. later i accidently upgrated to 3.1.2 on itunes. so tried to downgrade it to 3.0 bt when i tried to down grade using redsnow it is having problems. now it is always in recovery mode. i used 3.1.2 firmware by shift+clickin on itunes n tried to restore bt everytime is try theres a error "recovery failed error 28". can anyone help me on this. im a newbie. thanx

enoC

macrumors 6502
Jul 2, 2009
Denmark
You cant downgrade iPhone 3GS' unless you have ECID SHSH on file via Cydia.

May I ask why you want to downgrade? You can still jailbreak and unlock it with Blackra1n and Blacksn0w...

If you're trying to restore to 3.1.2, and still are having issues, then try deleting the ipsw from the iTunes Software folder or download the ipsw from the internet...

akxey

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 8, 2009
i cant use my sim when i upgrated to 3.1.2 i think cox of the baseband been upgraded to 5xx. n when i use blackrain n click on make it rain. my iphone displays the pic of a guy n thats it no change it is stuck from there. same when i use redsnow a pic of hard disk is displayed on the screen on iphone got stuck there. when i turn on my iphone every time it displays this usb cable n itunes logo.... i'll delete ipsw file n download a new one n post back thanx enoC :)

enoC

macrumors 6502
Jul 2, 2009
Denmark