Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

goblinmason

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 4, 2009
Hello,

I've got it in my head that I'm going to make one of these. However, I'm a noob when is comes to coding, but I'm good with computers and can pick up on stuff quickly. I know the very basics of coding (html, css), but that's about it. I've downloaded the Iphone SDK and started reading over the help stuff in Xcode, but it seems to be going over my head.

Can a noob like mean learn this in any reasonable amount of time, or am I in too deep? If so, how would you reccomend that I start?

If not, where should I start to eventually be able to develop this skill?

-Craig

dejo

Moderator emeritus
Sep 2, 2004
The Centennial State
Hello,

I've got it in my head that I'm going to make one of these. However, I'm a noob when is comes to coding, but I'm good with computers and can pick up on stuff quickly. I know the very basics of coding (html, css), but that's about it. I've downloaded the Iphone SDK and started reading over the help stuff in Xcode, but it seems to be going over my head.

Can a noob like mean learn this in any reasonable amount of time, or am I in too deep? If so, how would you reccomend that I start?

-Craig
There are plenty of similar threads already in this forum. I'd suggest checking them out as well as the stickies at the top of this forum.

P.S. HTML and CSS are not the basics of programming. They are just languages used for markup.

firewood

macrumors G3
Jul 29, 2003
Silicon Valley
Faq?

We need an FAQ for this specific (software newbie) topic. Perhaps from a few former non-programmers who tried really hard for 2 months and gave up, as well as the one or two lucky geniuses who actually learned from scratch, and got an app finished and submitted.

Anyone?

firewood

macrumors G3
Jul 29, 2003
Silicon Valley