Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

thestugots

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 10, 2022
I have a refurbished MBA (M2, 2022), it's 8 months old.

When I received it, the screen first smelt like glue. I didn't know who to tell.. but now I think this is part of the problem.

I ignored it.. now months down the line, a little dent in the frame caused a pixel loss that slowly turned into a hairline fracture... that's now become a fully fledged crack from edge to edge.

I've got a genius appointment booked but I can't help but wonder why the screen (and aluminium frame) is so unbelievably flimsy and if I, refurbished mac owner, am not alone?

phillytim

macrumors 68000
Aug 12, 2011
Philadelphia, PA
My Apple-refurbished M2 Air's screen is gorgeous, and doesn't feel flimsy to me.

I'm coming off of an ol' 2011 MacBook Pro tank.

Is yours Apple-refurbished?

happyslayer

macrumors 65816
Feb 3, 2008
Glendale, AZ
I'm not sure what you mean by "little dent" in the frame. Is this something that was there when you got it, or something that happened while you owned it. Maybe a drop or something hit it or pressed against it in a laptop bag. There should be no dents in a MacBook frame. And the Genius Bar may not help (at least not under warranty) if they think you caused the damage.

thestugots

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 10, 2022
You say it's refurbished but by who? Apple or some other company? I have the M2 MBA, nothing flimsy about it.

Apple refurbished product. I don't know if that makes a difference. The little dent came from a slight knock against my desk wall... Never thought the quality would be so subpar.

Mrbobb

macrumors 603
Aug 27, 2012
Macbooks tend to be flimsy on the corners unfortunately, you got unlucky of hitting it at the perfect :( spot.

• Sad
Reactions: thestugots

Andeddu

macrumors 68000
Dec 21, 2016