Is the MacBook Air powerful enough...

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by bobobenobi, May 4, 2011.

  1. bobobenobi
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
  2. miles01110
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    Are you serious? Vi is a text editor. Any computer made in the last 20 years can run vi from a technical specifications standpoint.
     
  3. anthro
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    #3
    No.
     
  4. TrollToddington
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    #4
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vi

     
  5. bobobenobi
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #5
    Do you think the MBA could run ex?
     
  6. Satori
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Satori

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #6
    You can run it from the terminal!
     
  7. DaLurker
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    #7
    Yes :)
     
  8. bobobenobi
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #8
    But do you think the Air has enough power to run the terminal and ex at the same time?
     
  9. SR71
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #9
    Yes...
     
  10. Twe Foju
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Twe Foju

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Location:
    Jakarta
  11. ann713
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    #11
    The Air isn't exactly crippled...
     
  12. MultiFinder17
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    MultiFinder17

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    #12
    Seeing as how it is just a smidge more powerful than your average PC from 1994, yes.
     
  13. Lord Appleseed
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Lord Appleseed

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Location:
    Apple Manor
    #13
    I was just about to write the same...
    It smells like troll, but I am not sure...
     
  14. chrono1081
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #14
    Definitely a troll...

    Incase by chance you aren't a troll OP my Macbook Air runs Maya, ZBrush, Houdini, and Unity just fine for those times I need to travel and work on projects so its definitely going to run old text editors from ancient computer days.
     
  15. jeremiah256
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    jeremiah256

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Location:
    Southern California
    #15
    Wow! That's a line-up of heavy duty apps I'd never think to associate with a MBA!:eek: Not to highjack the thread but could you describe what you mean by 'fine'...my early 2006 MBP w/2 GB RAM can run two virtual machines 'fine' (meaning without crashing but kind of slow). While rendering do you have the ability to do other tasks (surf, check email, etc)? And have you used Lightwave on your MBA?
     
  16. Twe Foju
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Twe Foju

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Location:
    Jakarta
    #16
    Why are you not sure?

    to be asking if Air is capable of running VI? both terminal and EX? all i can do is just lol at the joke
     
  17. TRUCRACKER
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    TRUCRACKER

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Location:
    VA
  18. mouthster
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    #18
    So what's worse, a troll or people who go down the "troll hole" and answer their questions seriously?
     
  19. bobobenobi
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #19
    I only posted in this as a lighthearted response to all of the "Is the MBA powerful enough to run X" threads I've seen lately.

    You gotta pay the troll toll if you want to get into this boy's soul...
     
  20. ckd
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    #20
    It definitely is. Run 'xterm' from the Terminal command line and you'll see (assuming you have X11 installed).
     
  21. bobobenobi, May 5, 2011
    Last edited: May 5, 2011

    bobobenobi
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #21
    Are you sure? Running the Terminal, ex, X, and xterm at the same time seems like a lot!

    Next question: Is running the Terminal and vi at the same time girly?
     
  22. Lord Appleseed
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Lord Appleseed

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Location:
    Apple Manor
    #22
    No, only running text edit and VI at the same time is.
     

Share This Page