iStat Menus Updated With New Look, History Views, and Bandwidth Monitor

Discussion in 'Mac Blog Discussion' started by MacRumors, Nov 29, 2012.

  1. macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    iStat Menus by Bjango has been updated to version 4, adding a new look and new features. Among other things, the app now shows a historical chart of various system metrics looking at the past hour, 24 hours and week. It also adds a Little Snitch-esque look at which processes are using up network bandwidth.

    [​IMG]
    iStat Menus 4 is available for $16 via Bjango's online store. It's $9 for current iStat Menus 3 owners.

    Article Link: iStat Menus Updated With New Look, History Views, and Bandwidth Monitor
     
  2. Quu
    macrumors 68000

    Quu

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    #2
    I actually purchased iStat Menus 3 when it released but I don't think I'm going to pay for this new version. I don't see why I would pay to get what is essentially a Retina Graphic update. The new features are pretty worthless.
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    kockgunner

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    #3
    Is the dashboard one still free? There was a weird period where it was supposedly paid but I still got it for free. I think if you restore from Time Machine and just copy the files over the older versions still work. Anyway, I don't care to know about these stats anymore.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    This app is awesome! I purchased it right away. Definitely worth the $16. It gives you comprehensive information on every part of your computer and now you can even manually change the fans speeds! Highly recommend.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    #5
    Just purchased, downloaded and installed on my 2011 iMac. The history views are pretty nice, and the UI on both the app and menus looks a lot fresher. It also includes the details of attached network storage too, and the new Networking status menu is quite nice too. Worth the small upgrade fee to be honest.
     
  6. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #6
    Yeah, I don't see any reason to upgrade either.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Location:
    Up your ass.
    #7
    Still shows that all GPU memory is used. :mad:
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    parish

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Location:
    Wilts., UK
    #8
    I hope they've addressed the battery life issue that's been annoying me ever since I got my retina MBP. The iStat Menu battery remaining %age is consistently 2-5% less than the OS X battery indicator :mad:

    Didn't happen on my old 2007 MBP
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    oneMadRssn

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #9
    iStat Pro for Dashboard is gone, no more. You can find a few thread on if here, one thread has been updating it and fixing some of the incompatibilities it has with Mountain Lion, but overall, its donezo.
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #10
    What Mac are you using it on? Has never done that to me.
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #11
    I just upgraded. It's buggy. Clicking to next month takes me to December 2013. Clicking the heading to return to current month takes me to October 2012. The text indicator for upload/download speeds stays stuck at 0.0b/s. Those disk space indicator bars and most of the other graphs are UGLY. The text in the menus is way too large and makes my sensors menu extend WAY off screen.
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #12
    I'll stick with version 3.
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #13
    Great customer service

    I just bought v3 three days ago. Complained yesterday when I saw the new version, and they sent me a new registration for v4 five minutes later.

    Not sure if v3 had info about which processes was consuming the most bandwidth, but very nicely done in v4 (no need for little snitch).
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    vvebsta

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    #14
    Why do they keep charging for every version? Its so annoying once a new version comes out and then it either bugs you to update or if you update it by accident it will tell you now you need to buy it. Its still the same app just with some new graphics.

    They need to put it on the app store and give free updates. Just my opinion. I know developers need to get paid too, but I don't think a few new icons is worth the money.
     
  15. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #15
  16. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #16
    At least there is upgrading pricing.

    If it were on the MAS (BTW, I think app store restrictions make it impossible) what would happen is the old version would get pulled and everyone would have to pay full price. :rolleyes:

    Relevant, Bjango's take on the app store.
     
  17. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    #17
    This product is massively overpriced. $5 and Id buy it for the skins, otherwise cant seem to justify it over the free alternatives.
     
  18. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Location:
    Irvine, CA, USA
    #18
    That is what I use every day. Does its job very well. I can't justify $16 for something that is essentially a minimized version of Activity Monitor.
     
  19. macrumors 6502

    Greg.

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Location:
    London, UK
    #19
    This may be me, but it looks really messy and ugly to me. Having your internet speed and CPU usage showing all the time is a unnecessary distraction and goes against the 'it just works' Mac philosophy. It's all a bit linux-sy!

    Simplicity and consistency:

    [​IMG]
     
  20. macrumors 6502

    larrylaffer

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #20
    This post makes me sad.
     
  21. macrumors 6502

    Greg.

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Location:
    London, UK
    #21
    Why, out of interest? It's just my personal view and can understand why many people would disagree with me. But nowadays computers are powerful enough for me to not worry about what % of RAM I'm utilising at all times. Ages ago when I was on a old Windows desktop, I always was opening task manager and checking process usage, and it was sucked. Simplicity and ease of use ftw!

    Just eww:

    [​IMG]
     
  22. macrumors 6502a

    Blaine

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Location:
    Abilene TX
    #22
    Well for one, it's fugly.

    I never thought I'd say this, but I downloaded the trial, and absolutely fell in love with it. I too wish it was on the mac app store, but oh well.
     
  23. macrumors 601

    HiRez

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Western US
    #23
  24. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    #24
    You've got to be kidding me. I bought v3.0 in May 2010 for $16. More than two and a half years later I can get an upgrade for $9. That's less than three lattes at Starbucks. It really isn't that much money. I have to say I use iStat menus a lot. I like to see the network speed when I am transferring files around the house and I like to see the CPU temp and activity levels - especially when I am doing video encoding. It's a very useful application.

    The developers have to make some money, they really can't just give the product away for free. They aren't out there monetizing the thing every twelve months. Again, it's been 31 months since I purchased 3.0 and they've constantly upgraded the product through various Apple system upgrades to maintain compatibility. This product is a steal at the price. Don't begrudge the authors for wanting to make a little profit. They have a nice suite of integrated products at reasonable prices. It would be nice if there were more small developers like them.
     
  25. macrumors 6502a

    GIZBUG

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #25
    Agree'd

    ----------

    after installing the free trial, im not sure how to get rid of the default mac Time, battery, etc. Any idea? Want to use istat time, and not the default time on the top bar on my mac.
     

Share This Page