iSync crashes on open REInstall Hasn't fixed it, any ideas?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by mcmadhatter, Mar 3, 2006.

  1. mcmadhatter macrumors 6502

    mcmadhatter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    #1
    whenever i try and open iSync, after 3 biunces the "this application has failed to open report reopen quit" dialog box comes up, I have tried deleting the .app and then reinstalling,but it still won't work. Has anyone got any ideas?
     
  2. rdowns Suspended

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #2
    Find the isync plist files (I have 3 of them on my computer) and move them to the desktop. Try and launch the program again.
     
  3. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
  4. mcmadhatter thread starter macrumors 6502

    mcmadhatter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    #4
    no I don't have a .mac account, i use it with my phone
     
  5. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #5
    Then go to the .plist files for iSync and do what Downs said...:)
     
  6. mcmadhatter thread starter macrumors 6502

    mcmadhatter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    #6
    I can only find com.apple.isync.plist

    tried moving it to the desktop but it still won't open, though now it gives no error messgae
     
  7. mcmadhatter thread starter macrumors 6502

    mcmadhatter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    #7
    oh nad also i haev isync 1.5 installed and it won't let me install isync 2.1 because it says i have a more up to date version already installed
     
  8. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #8
    Move that to the desktop. Try to launch.
     
  9. mcmadhatter thread starter macrumors 6502

    mcmadhatter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    #9
    moved it to the desktop, it won't launch, no application bouncing or anything
    moved the .app to the desktop - same problem
    tried installing 2.1 - says there is a newer versino already installed

    Is there any uninstall software for macs? I was thinking if i can uninstall the entire program (rather than just deleting the .app) it might let me reinstall.
     
  10. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #10
    Why don't you Spotlight iSync and see what files come up.

    You should find an iSync admin archive, which may be worth trashing/moving.

    In fact, if it were me, I'd trash anything thet remotely looked iSyncish, but then again I have regretted that apparoach before. :eek:
     
  11. mcmadhatter thread starter macrumors 6502

    mcmadhatter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    #11
    trashed everything , it the let me install it again, but it still won't work, - I give up, i shall look for an isync replacement or just reinstall osx :mad: :(

    Thanks for the help though, much appreciated
     
  12. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #12
    How much of a pain in the ass is reinstalling? For me, that is a three-day procedure. Your mileage may vary, and it might even be a good solution.
     
  13. mcmadhatter thread starter macrumors 6502

    mcmadhatter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    #13
    Well, it will take tonight to backup the entire HDD to my PC, then 30mins install of osx, 3hours of patches downloads, and then another 2 hours to installt the old software (i have a copy of everything I ever downloaded to install so at least i don't have to download all those again.) i think I might do it this weekend if i get bored.
     
  14. ipedro macrumors 68030

    ipedro

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #14
    I have the same issue. I've been hoping that the Tiger update launched today would fix it, but it hasn't.

    I'm not sure how this is related, but I've found info on the net that says that installing the Flip4mac wmv player breaks iSync. How it messes with a completely unrelated application I don't know .. but uninstalling Flip4mac might yield a solution.
     
  15. ChuckyJ macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #15
    a fix

    I was having the same prob. I just put the folder SyncServices on the desktop and relaunched iSync and it solved the problem. Now iSync works again and also my .Mac syncing. Library/Application Support/SyncServices.
     
  16. juancruz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    #16
    iSync crashes

    Hi! I tried moving .plist files to desktop, moving SyncServices folder, and many others things...at the end, I tried duplicating iSync.app (right click on iSync.app and select "Duplicate" and it creates iSync copy.app) and it worked!!!

    I'm 99% sure that the problem began the day I installed Flip4Mac on my MacBook. Thanks Craig for your help!!!
     

Share This Page