Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Wingsley

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Mar 20, 2014
My current smartphone, a Lenovo-Motorola Moto G6 Play, is a disaster. Horrible performance: sluggish, occasional screen freezes, and truly terrible battery life. I've regretted getting this phone since shortly after I got it. What an awful mistake I made. It runs Android 9 and I equipped it with an additional 64 GB microSD card.

I want to transition over to my new iPhone SE, 3rd generation. I just bought it, new, from Apple direct. The SE has 128 GB SSD on-board. My only experience with iOS is a much older iPad Mini 2 running iOS 12.4. So I have no direct experience with newer versions of iOS.

First, I want to ask, just generally: what the best way is to migrate from Android to iPhone?

The SE is due to arrive 2 May 2022. Thanks in advance.

NoBoMac

Staff member
Jul 1, 2014
^^^This.

Or, just turn it on, setup an Apple ID, and use it. Things like Contacts, Calendar/Reminders can keep talking to one's (assumed) Google services. Or Outlook/Microsoft.

One thing to look out for is any Android apps that don't exist on iOS: will need to find a replacement and potentially find a way to extract any data from the app and import into an iOS app. Apps that seem to arise in this category are password protected document vaults, password managers; health apps, recipe/shopping list apps (aka things that might have a database involved). So, go through the Android phone and see what apps you are using that have critical to you data in them and start planning for that.

(EDIT: since you have an iPad already, already have Apple ID, so can skip that step)

Mark Stone

macrumors 6502
Mar 20, 2022
In its case.