Kernal Panics on startup

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by P-Worm, Aug 30, 2006.

  1. P-Worm macrumors 68020

    P-Worm

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #1
    I tried to instal OS X 10.4 and when it restart look what happened!

    [​IMG]

    Everytime I try to reset I get this same thing. Is there anything that I can do?

    P-Worm
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Wow, old school kernel panic! Are you reformatting? Is it a retail version of Tiger? What do you have plugged in and how far along the install process did you get? Sorry for all the questions, but hopefully we'll get this sorted. :)
     
  3. P-Worm thread starter macrumors 68020

    P-Worm

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #3
    I think I found the mistake. I made it spit out the disk on reboot and it didn't give me that. I think that my problem was that I was using the instal CD that came with my Mac Pro for my old G4. I guess they must have changed the instal process when they moved to Intel. I'll just wait for 10.5 to come out to upgrade that computer.

    P-Worm
     
  4. caveman_uk Guest

    caveman_uk

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    Hitchin, Herts, UK
    #4
    The mac pro disc is for an Intel Machine. Your G4 isn't an intel machine so it totally won't work.
     
  5. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    Even if the discs were from a modern PPC machine they wouldn't work and it would be a violation of the EULA if they did. The licence for bundled Apple software applies only to the machine it came with. Also, Apple now makes sure you cannot install an OS from one machine onto another via firmware checks. :)
     

Share This Page