Kernel panics ... cause?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by silentbob007, Nov 14, 2012.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    #1
    Last week I made two decently big changes to my new mini ... I installed a BootCamp partition and installed new RAM. Now, in the past week, I've had two kernel panics. Is it more likely this is from the RAM or the partition?
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
  3. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #3
    put the original ram back in and see if the problem goes away.
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
  5. Snowcake, Nov 14, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2012

    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    #5
    It is not your partition. It should be your new ram.

    Test it with memtest86+ for atleast 10 passes. (10 hours)
    If your ram is really bad it should give a error in the first passes.

    That way you know for sure if your ram is defect. Use the bootcd version of memtest86+.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    borostef

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    #6
    99% that it is RAM... Try with the original sticks...
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #7
    it is ram - 100 percent - try original ram, or only new one - had similar with imac - old ram did not work with new - so i bought for new modules and problem was solved .. if you dont trust us, try apple hw test and run extensive one - it will give you error code
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    dasx

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Location:
    Barcelona
    #8
    You can also try running memtest+. Errors will eventually show up. Then return those modules as they're clearly faulty!
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #9
    that does not need to be truth - I had imac original 4GB module, added another from iceberg and problem occured... tryed another iceberg, no change, then swapped apple original for another iceberg and since then, 18 months without any problem... my conclusion, some modules work together, some not
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    dasx

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Location:
    Barcelona
    #10
    My point still makes sense. Those modules are faulty!
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #11
    Nope, they may be OK - only does not work with apple ones... in my case, those from apple (original in imac) were problematic, when switched for iceberg, everything went ok...
     
  12. macrumors 65816

    dasx

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Location:
    Barcelona
    #12
    You should've gone to Apple and have them replace them then.
     
  13. macrumors 603

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #13
    Whenever you install new ram, the first thing you should do is test it. Single user utilities are preferable, as they tend to test a greater portion of ram. Whatever the test, run it at least 5 cycles. If any errors arise, RMA the memory. Test replacement ram too. RAM is extremely cheap these days, so I get the feeling that quality control may have slipped somewhat.
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    #14
    Well, it is better to do atleast 10 cycles.

    I have read that people had weird problems and and the errors showed up in the 9th cycle. After replacing the ram, no more weird problems and ram tested good.
     
  15. macrumors 603

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #15
    We can argue over how many. There's no real magic number to it. You're slightly more likely to turn up an error if you run it 100 cycles. In most cases errors capable of causing kernel panics turn up early enough. I just suggest setting it for a number of cycles and letting it run overnight.
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #16
    I did so... they took original apple ram, gave me another iceberg module and since then, it works like calendar:D
     
  17. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    #17
    Just search the internet. Memtest86+ stays a synthetic test...

    More than 15 has no use.
     

Share This Page