LaunchPad challenges

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Killerbob, Apr 19, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #1
    OK, I have a problem with LaunchPad, and need to know if it is just me, or if it is a general problem in Lion. I have logged a Bug, but heard nothing back thus far.

    I have a lot of programs, and have gotten used to using XMenu in SL. However, with LaunchPad I thought my troubles were over, and using DP1 and DP2 it looked like it. I actually like LaunchPad - I have a lot of personalization, with all programs in a few folders on the first page in LaunchPad.

    However, since the service pack for DP2, all of these personal settings have reset back to square one. It is all gone, and even if I now set it all up again, it will reset upon next reboot.

    I have three files in the "dock" folder, a .db, a .corrupt, and a .db-journal file, and even if I replace these with the "correct" ones (copied after setting LaunchPad up like I want it, it will all reset eventually.

    How many people are having problems with LP?

    Bo
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #3
    Nope, never heard anything back from the fruit company, or from other users, except confirmation I am not the only one:mad:
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    #4
    having problems with launchpad as well, i spend 30 min setting up icons in folders for launchpad and a restart did reset launchpad! everything is gone out of folder now. agrrrrrrrr

    anyone knows what is up with launchpad? maybe its a permission problem or am i missing something?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #5
    Hi,

    Looks like all these issues with LP, are solved with DP4!

    Bo
     
  6. macrumors regular

    pcmxa

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Location:
    ABQ
    #6
    Just had this happen on the official release of Lion. My dock, launchpad, desktop, and mission control spaces were reset on a reboot. Ever hear anything back?
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #7
    Nope. After DP4 all has worked fine. One thing though, I read somewhere that if you had played around with the DB files, you may need to do a complete reinstall of Lion for it to work correctly. This is what I did.

    Bo
     

Share This Page