Leopard on an eMac

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Babooshka, Aug 21, 2008.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Babooshka

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #1
    Hello

    I am getting a pre-owned eMac on Wednesday which has Tiger installed, and wondering if I could use the Leopard install install disks I got with my iMac to install Leopard on the eMac.

    Can I?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    a456

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    #2
    No.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    opeter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Slovenia (EU)
    #3
    If it has a DVD drive (reader), than yes. But i would not suggest, because the eMac isn't quite fast with it's G4 CPU. I would leave Tiger on it...

    I mean, you want a fluent, decent experience by using your computer, right? Than stay with Tiger.
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    No - the Leopard install disks supplied with your iMac are machine specific and Intel only.

    A retail version of Leopard will install provided you have a fast enough eMac (1ghz or better) and, contrary to popular opinion, won't be appreciably slower than Tiger provided you max out the RAM to 1gb (the last versions would handle 2gb which is worth having).
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    a456

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    #5
    The OP is asking if he can use the grey install disks that came with his iMac not a copy bought in a box. The answer is no for two reasons:

    (1) These install disks are tied to the specific models they come with

    (2) It will be an Intel version of Leopard.

    Therefore to get Leopard on the eMac the OP needs to check the stats against the minimum requirements of Leopard and to buy a boxed version of the OS.

    Edit: Tersono beat me to it.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Babooshka

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #6
    Thanks alot guys.
     
  7. macrumors 601

    Phil A.

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Telford, UK
    #7
    I think you've misread the OP's question - he wasn't asking if the eMac will run Leopard (which it will, albeit a bit slowly), he was asking if he can use the iMac restore disk to install Leopard.
    The answer to the that is no, both legally (the license on the restore disk applies only to the machine it was supplied with) and practically (an iMac restore disk won't work on an eMac)

    Edit: Beaten to it!!
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    opeter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Slovenia (EU)
    #8
    OK, sorry than. Thanks for correcting me.
     
  9. macrumors regular

    colonels1020

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    #9
    The iMac restore disks will work if you remove the hardware check from them. :)
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Babooshka

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #10
    Just to say, the eMac is a 1.33GHz, and I do plan on making it 1Gb and not 512Mb
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #11
    Do tell!
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Babooshka

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #12
    Is that allowed, considering it's breaking copyright or summat?
     

Share This Page