link w/ firewire?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by nate13, Mar 1, 2004.

  1. nate13 macrumors 6502

    nate13

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    #1
    Is there any way to link two comps together using firewire? Would make moving files back and forth easier...
    :confused: :rolleyes:
     
  2. mklos macrumors 68000

    mklos

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    My house!
    #2
    If your using Mac OS X.3 (Panther) on both Macs then yes you can. Its called IP over FireWire. On both Macs you'll have to add FireWire as a network port. To do this go to System Preferences/Networking then click on the pull down menu next to show. Go down to Network Port Configurations, then click on the new button. Under Port, select Built-in FireWire and then give it a name. Just to be easy I would just name it FireWire. While your using it I would drag the FireWire above all the other ports. This give FireWire more priority. While your in System Preferences, go to the Sharing System Preference and make sure File Sharing is turned on and if the FireWire is turned on, make sure its configured properly. I would just turn that off if you don't need it, if its not already off. Its off my default.

    Connect the 2 Macs together with a FireWire cable and see if both get an IP address on the same subnet. Then both Macs should show up in the Network browsing section of Finder, or in Finder you could go to the Go menu and Connect to server. Put the IP address of the other Mac and the folder you want to connect to.

    Note: If your not using Mac OS X.3 (Panther) you can use the developer version of IP over FireWire. Its on the Apple Developer Site. (www.apple.com/developer) You'll have to register as a developer to be able to download the software. Remember that the developer version off the Apple Website is a beta version and may not work correctly, or may cause conflicts. The version in Panther works just fine.
     
  3. nate13 thread starter macrumors 6502

    nate13

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    #3
    thanx!


    COOL!!
    thanx
     
  4. mklos macrumors 68000

    mklos

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    My house!
    #4
    Note that IP over FireWire only works with Macs as far as I know. So it will not work with a Mac connected to a PC using FireWire.

    Just an FYI:

    Did you know that you can connect 2 Macs together with regular patch cable through Ethernet? Newer Macs have ports that crosses the signal over when needed.
     
  5. nate13 thread starter macrumors 6502

    nate13

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    #5
    Yes, i just wanted to use my 2nd gen iPod firewire cable, but i think i lost it!! (no problem really though, i use a car charger and its my 2500 song radio... might be a prob for updating)

    Edit: Found it!! yea! :D
     
  6. KC9AIC macrumors 6502

    KC9AIC

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan or Longview, Texas
    #6
    You can also use one mac in firewire disk mode, can't you?
     
  7. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #7
    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=42717 for the list of Macs that use auto-MDIX (technology that lets you use patch cable as a crossover substitute).
    btw, many switches/routers/hubs use auto-mdix technology. I wouldnt be surprised if PCs have them too. This is not a strictly-Apple technology.
     
  8. Nik_Doof macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Location:
    St Helens, UK
    #8
    Most upper range network cards do this, 3COM 3c905 are a defo. Dont expect $10 realtek 3198 based network cards to support it though :)

    Also most switches only support it on the uplink port, not on all ports.
     
  9. javabear90 macrumors 6502a

    javabear90

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #9
    Hook up both computers together and then shut one down. Then hold down "T" while it boots up and it will go into firewire target ~or sumthin mode.
    Then theres a cool icon on the orignial computer and that is the other computers harddrive.
    Hope this Helps
    Ted
     
  10. nate13 thread starter macrumors 6502

    nate13

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    #10
    the reason...

    the reason i was presuing this is because transfering files through airport seems to take wayyyy to long. is there an app which solves this or something? i am seriously doubting apples claim for 54 Mbps. maybe the difference of airport cards? (extreem to regular??) but thanx anyway, the firewire thing works out great, and i might get a ethernet cable tonight and use the iPods for the iPod...
     
  11. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #11
    haha thanks that was it. i couldnt remember where and what network cards had it.

    you can connect a mac and PC with fw: http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?story=20031112091634533

    And definately, doing file transfers from regular 802.11b to 802.11g will show noticeable slowing down of speed. and remember 54mbps is the theoretical maximum speed of 802.11g and its not apples fault if you cant ever reach that speed. :) :p
     

Share This Page