logic pro and imac i5 or i7 question

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by Ptit, Jul 13, 2011.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Location:
    moon
    #1
    Hey guys, i wanted to know if anyone of you i5 and i7 owners had a chance to compare performances between the machines, does the amount of memory, SSD drive, going from i5 to i7 make a difference?

    thanks
     
  2. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Location:
    moon
    #2
    bump
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #3
    An i7 will process faster than the i5 however you won't notice it too much with logic - and a external FireWire drive for audio storage will work better than staying on board. However if you got the solid state drive/7400 rpm drive it would also work well. You want to keep track storage on a different drive than programs.

    And 8gb of ram is sufficient but 16gb will speed up any sample based synths you might use.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #4

    To clarify: Don't record to the external drive. You may experience buffering errors. (I learned this the hard way working with ProTools -- FW800 can't write fast enough, the software gets kinked up, and produces an error).

    I'm curious to see a Thunderbolt drive do this...I bet it runs smoothly.
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #5

    That's not a problem here running Logic pro, Apogee Duet FW, and recording to a 2 TB WD FW800 drive ( that also has samples on it that are streaming back). Now I've mostly been under 32 tracks....

    I've also edited and rendered short vignettes using Final Cut Pro with Motion tracks written.

    The errors you get may very well be a PT buffeting issue.
     

Share This Page