Logic Studio Licensing

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by Adrien Baker, Mar 15, 2008.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Location:
    Bakersfield, Ca.
    #1
    I just ordered Logic Studio and I'm having trouble finding the answer to my question, which is:

    Is Logic only good for an install onto one machine? I'm planning on installing it onto my Mac Pro, but I'm also about to purchase a MBP and I'd like to install it on that as well. Is this doable out of the box? Or would I have to purchase another license or something?

    Thanks,

    Adrien
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    #2
    That's doable out of the box.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    djejrejk

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Location:
    Uhh...
    #3
    The license probably allows installation on 1 desktop and 1 notebook.
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    WinterMute

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Location:
    London, England
    #4
    The answer is in the text of the licensing agreement, assuming it allows installation onto a desktop and laptop isn't a correct interpretation unless it specifically instructs that that is the case.

    The reality is that without a hardware dongle, you can install onto both machines but, unless allowed by the license, it would be a breach of the license to do so.

    Your call, is that a parrot on your shoulder....?:D;)
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Location:
    Bakersfield, Ca.
    #5
    I just spoke with an Apple Sales Rep. online and he told me Logic Studio is good for installation on 1 Notebook and 1 Desktop.

    Adrien
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    AviationFan

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA
    #6
    Why not go straight to the source?
    http://images.apple.com/legal/sla/docs/logicstudio8.pdf
    - Martin
     

Share This Page