Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mbkj0916

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 22, 2004
Hey all...
I am relatively new to Macs but not to hardware installation. My girlfriend has a G4 Powerbook 400 Mhz Titanium and has a broken hinge.

I found some hinges and would like to do the replacement myself as Tekserve in NYC wants to charge $220 just for the labor and ungodly amounts to send it in to Apple. I think I can do it myself but I'd like to see a guide to make sure I can handle it before I buy the parts.

Does anyone have or know of where I can find a free take apart guide? I see powerbookmedic.com has exactly what I am looking for here: http://www.powerbookmedic.com/xcart...r_Manuals_G4_Titanium_400__500-p-1-c-345.html

Anyone know of something similar for free? :) Thanks so much for any help you can give!

mbkj0916

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 22, 2004
Thank you very much :) It was very informative but did not really have a part on hinges (though it did have documentation on pretty much everything else!

Does anyone else have good resources?

powerbookmedic

macrumors member
Aug 22, 2003
Huntsville, AL
The service manuals don't cover hinge repair. Apple will only replace the display (which is covered in the service manual) Our manual covers hinge replacement, and is one of the only places that you'll find the procudure.

The manual can be found at PowerbookMedic.com.

-Bradley
PowerbookMedic.com

Powerbook Parts, Repairs, Upgrades, & More

TLRedhawke

macrumors 6502
Sep 17, 2004