Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

denibg

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 4, 2020
Hi there :) I'm new to Apple computers and I have a question about the Mac Mini M1 because it impressed me a lot. I would like to use it as a server for online work, but to be able to work 2-3 people simultaneously with a desktop environment (in general, Safari and Photoshop will be used the most) as a Windows Server. Is it possible to use it this way?

chrfr

macrumors G5
Jul 11, 2009
Hi there :) I'm new to Apple computers and I have a question about the Mac Mini M1 because it impressed me a lot. I would like to use it as a server for online work, but to be able to work 2-3 people simultaneously with a desktop environment (in general, Safari and Photoshop will be used the most) as a Windows Server. Is it possible to use it this way?
No, macOS doesn't support being used as a terminal server. You could connect to file shares on the Mini from other desktop computers, however.
You can do screen sharing but only to one user at a time.

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
The Mini could be used as a kind of server but it will never run Windows virtual machines. Any kind of back-end service could be hosted on a Mini, Like a database or a web server. The limitation is RAM but you say for only 2 or 3 users, so 16GB would work.

If you are looking for a VM server at very low cost, you can buy computers that have just come off-least for even less than the pricw of the Mac mini.

Reactions: rui no onna

Gnattu

macrumors 65816
Sep 18, 2020
macOS doesn't support being used as a terminal server.
Not natively, but commercial solution do exist, and Apple added paravirual graphics to macOS 11 which enables macOS 11 VMs to have GPU acceleration, but all of above only have working solution on Intel for now.

Reactions: T'hain Esh Kelch

chrfr

macrumors G5
Jul 11, 2009