Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

scarlac

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 30, 2019
Hi, I'm a photographer and I am in need for a new Mac.
I would like to have your opinion before I choose my next model, I have doubts about the range of some models, don't know what to choose.
Apple has the art to lead you from one model to the next one, always by adding or not adding options on certain models.

I use following software the most:
- Lightroom
- Photoshop
- Topaz Photo AI
- Indesign
- sometimes Illustrator, After Effects, Premiere Pro, Media Encoder
- Apple music (app), is always open, I mention this because this app uses a lot of memory

Here is my current setup:
- Macbook Pro 2019, intel core i9, 32GB RAM, 4TB SSD
- connected to a Studio display.
It's still a fast and very good computer, only the 32GB RAM is not enough.
Especially when I use Photo AI, for more than 10 images in batch, wowww it can take about an hour for denoising and sharpening a batch of 10-15 photos)
I also see when I'm using Lightroom for a long time, my mac starts to slow down.
Photoshop with more than 5-6 layers starts to struggle too (when LR is open too).
As you can imagine, my workflow is under pressure, when more than 1 app is open, which is always the case as a photographer.

I have to be careful about my budget. I can't Afford a macbook pro M3 boosted with 64Gb and 4TB SSD. I configured on the apple site what I would need and I get a price around the 6500€.

I tried out several Mac Mini models and Mac Studio models.
Very soon both models will bring their M3 versions on the market. (I hope so)

The 2 options I'm considering are:
- Mac mini M3 pro, 32 GB RAM, 1 TB SD, external NVMe 4TB SSD
- Mac Studio M3 max, 64 GB RAM, 1 TB SD, external NVMe 4TB SSD
Till now, the mac mini doesn't offer 64GB RAM, the studio does.