Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

stromie952

macrumors regular
Original poster
Apr 22, 2002
Rochester, NY
Hey all,

I am a student working at my school's computer lab and I am running a training session about Macs. At school, we have eMacs and all updated to 10.3.6. When I did this previously, I basically went through where things are located, how to force quit, key commands, where the power button is, etc. I am mainly looking at changing misconceptions about the Mac and showing the strengths of the system.

I would like to still cover that stuff, but I also want to put in an interactive element to make it more like a college workshop where they have a situation or a problem to fix and they do that by themselves or as a group without the trainer telling them how.

I am having some trouble coming up with that kind of interactive element. I figured asking here may be helpful because I know a lot of people here are teachers and altogether bright people. Also, any topics for training (one session of about an hour) would be appreciated.

Thanx in advance.

-Stromie

MP2

macrumors member
Jan 15, 2005
I agree, teach them all the key commands like force quitting, holding down the power button for 5 seconds after a kernel panic, how to reset the p-ram and nv-ram, firewire disk mode, holding the option key or 'c' key at startup. stuff like this

teach them how to install things like airport cards and ram. possibly take an emac apart (but be careful, a couple of techs at my school broke an emac when trying to take them apart, those emacs are a though nut to crack).

maybe teach them how to network several macs together, and several macs with xp, 2000 and 98. more

teach them some basic terminal commands like ls, top, cd, cat, ftp, ssh, telnet, emacs/vi/pico, kill, diskutil, drutil, man, open, etc.