Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

irepairlabs

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 6, 2024
Hi there,

Does anyone have the SPI bios file for Mac Pro A1289 (Mid 2010)? I am more than happy to provide more details that may help.

Regards

tsialex

Contributor
Jun 13, 2016
Each one is unique, you have to use the factory installed one.

To test a board, you can use MP51.fd. Read more here:

irepairlabs

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 6, 2024
@tsialex Thanks for the knowledge. I am a newbie when it comes to flashing Mac Pro's using CH341a. Should I mod the ch341a to use 3.3v at the data pin for the flash? Currently, it is dumping 5v on the data line. But I believe the MX25L3205D's data pin operates at 3.3V. Isn't it? I have a ch341a that do not have a voltage selector on it. I believe it is one of the old models.

By the way, here are some more details about the Mac Pro, if it helps. Have you or anyone else in the forum have come across a similar issue?

EMC : 2629
MAC PRO 2.4_12CX/6X2GB/1TB/5770/SD-USA.
According to the serial check at Apple's website, it is a mid-2012 model.

Regards

Last edited:

irepairlabs

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 6, 2024
The thought of flashing the mobo is due to a problem that I have been having with it. It used to boot up and run fine. But recently the mobo started to show problems where it boots with no display but chimes. So I re-balled the video card processor and everything was fine. As this belonged to a customer, he came and picked it up. After a few days, he bought it in again complaining that it would not turn on when the power button is pressed. The OVTMP light flashes when the power cord is plugged and the standby amber led also lights up when the diag button is pressed. I have checked the PSU and it checked out fine.