mac pro overclocking and fsb

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by williedigital, Nov 20, 2006.

  1. williedigital macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    #1
    So, if one were to install a xeon with a 1066fsb, would the macpro automatically try to run it at 1333 (in effect overclocking it) or would it automatically shift to 1066? If it doesn't do it automatically, could you force it to do 1333 somehow?
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    Apple has never supported overclocking, IMNSHO, you would be crazy to try. There are SOOO many things that can break - RAM timing, heat management, etc. It'll absolutely void the warranty, of course.

    If you have an overclocking jones, then buy a Pentium D805 and an ABit motherboard in a clone box and have at 'er.
     
  3. dusanv macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    #3
    Hm, my B&W G3 shipped with a set of jumpers near the CPU labeled "speed control" (lol) and a little diagram describing which jumper combination is what multiplier. Overclocked from 350 to 400 without a hitch (never tried 450 or 500). No, they didn't support it, of course.

    Willie, it's a really interesting idea, but I wouldn't try it on my Mac Pro.
     
  4. williedigital thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    #4
    i know

    i know they've never officially supported it, but intel motherboards are usually built really stable and have shown to be completely safe to overclock. that combined with the core2 duo's architecture being extremely overclockable makes me want to give it a try. any jumpers on the mac pro board?
     
  5. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    I'm only really here at night.
    #5
    Yep, I oc'd my B&W from 350 to 450 notta problemo, and also from 550 to 650 after I put a G4 in it from OWC.

    Yes the jumpers were there, but so was a little strip of tape that said removing it would void the warranty too :p

    Granted the intel stuff is different 4 sure, but I dont think I would risk it on a brand new machine........after the warranty runs out, oh yea :D
     
  6. williedigital thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    #6
    the original mac mini had that thing where you could pop off a couple capacitors to bump the 1.25 or 1.33 g4 to a 1.5.
     
  7. Transeau macrumors 6502a

    Transeau

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Alta Loma, CA
    #7
    The Processor Clock, and FSB are auto-configured by the Processor, and are "Clock Clocked". Outside of hacking the EFI to manually change the FSB clock, you will not be overclocking an Intel Mac.

    The CPU is set at the factory for it's FSB clock (1066 or 1333) and multiplier. Short of modifying the CPU (both of them, and risking serious damage) you are pretty well stuck with the default core speed of the CPUs
     
  8. ChrisKadaver macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    #8
    I was just thinking the same thing, and ended up here searching for some answers. If you can't overclock a mac fsb through software/bios in any way, it must be because the fsb is set from factory and cant be changed?
    so if that is the case, it should work in theory to put a cpu with 1066 mhz fsb and get it to run in 1333 mhz. If the fsb isnt controlled by the cpu? would be intrersting to hear from someone who tried it :)
    but im afraid Transeau's right.
     
  9. synth3tik macrumors 68040

    synth3tik

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #9
    We are not talking C2Ds here. I would not suggest to anyone any overclocking on a Mac Pro.
     
  10. chaos86 macrumors 65816

    chaos86

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #10
    you're not happy with the speed of your mac pro? hard to please at all?


    isn't the bottleneck nowadays the i/o, ram, and hard drive? would overclocking make much difference?
     
  11. Sdashiki macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #11
    Isnt overclocking usually reserved for the people who put neons and xmass lights in their rigs?

    I thought us Mac Users were "better" than that. :rolleyes:
     
  12. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #12
    Not automatically, yes you can force it to do 1333.

    http://www.o0o.it/pro/ covers such a thing somwhere in the article.


    Or for people who want to save hundreds of dollars.
     
  13. THX1139 macrumors 68000

    THX1139

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #13
    On my MacPro, I am the bottleneck. No matter how fast I type, my MacPro is always waiting on me.
     
  14. Sdashiki macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #14
    At what cost of stability and lifespan?
     
  15. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #15
    No idea and I certainly wouldn't do it, but I wouldn't think there would be any real issue for a 4-5 year lifespan.
     
  16. emeldahay macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    #16
    And then spend it on neons and xmass lights for their rig. :cool:
     
  17. slughead macrumors 68030

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #17
    The lights please the baby Jesus into giving us presents.

    I have nothing to add to this thread, other than it's really dumb to overclock a $2500 computer.
     
  18. vohdoun macrumors 65816

    vohdoun

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    Far away from Earth.
    #18
    How do you work that logic out...

    Lets see, to save lots of money on fast high end CPU's. Overclock the blazes hell out of the one he/she already has, over time the parts wear out or eventually fail. Burn out, to have to buy a new machine or parts because they've burned out the previous? :)

    Quite.

    This almost reminds me the exact thing somebody done here when they got their Mac pro. Anyone remember, once he got it, he stripped the heatsink or rather had taken them off just to see whats below and the paste it uses? then let the silver paste dry out, as the heatsinks were off for 4 - 5 days.

    What the friggin!, I don't get people at times. Its like those freaks that bought the XBOX360 or PS3 and then smash it in front of the queues that were waiting on the day of release just for the sake of it.
     
  19. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #19
    You can't overclock the ones that come with the Mac Pro. 1.83 GHz Xeons however can be made to run at 2.33GHz, as shown in the link I posted making it possible to get an 8 core 2.33GHz machine running for $500-$600. Selling off the old processors or using themelse where could also add alot to the savings. It's not for everyone, not even close, but for some people, especially as warranties are about to run out for many, it is an option. Just because the binning process found that such processors weren't up to Intel's requirements for higher speeds doesn't mean they will burn out or fail.
     
  20. Wild-Bill macrumors 68030

    Wild-Bill

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    bleep
    #20
    ROTFL!!!!! That's the best line I've seen in a long time :p:p:p
     
  21. Kosh66 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    #21
    There's a way to solve that problem. Just install BOINC and have it start at startup and add a project like SETI. It'll keep your Mac Pro busy, even when you aren't using it. It's cool to see all those 4 cores zooming at 100%.
     
  22. contoursvt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    #23
    CPU's dont wear out in the same way a car would. A standard CPU might easily work 10 or 15 years so even if the life gets cut in half, then so what. Are you using a computer from 15 years ago? Chances are no. As long as the voltage doesnt get bumped, there isnt much danger in overclocking.

    Also there *IS* money to be saved. Say if the 2.66Ghz hits 3Ghz (which it probably would and do so without any issues or reliability problems) and if the computer lasts for the duration of time the owner has purchased it, then money has been saved.

    Overclocking is only dangerous if the cpu is running hotter than what specs allow or if the voltage exceeds the max recommended.... If someone can overclock and the box tests fine and runs stable then whats the real issue?



     
  23. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #24
    Ofcourse Folding! But unfortunately folding or other distibuted computing projects aren't happy with overclocked procs because you have a bigger chance of corrupt data that it could produce. A lot of times your WorkUnit will be early terminated because it isn't correct. In the past there where a couple of folding threads about it in the distributed computing section here at MR.
     
  24. macz1 macrumors 6502

    macz1

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #25

Share This Page