Mac Pro Start-Up Problem

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by A.Fairhead, Jun 1, 2007.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #1
    Hi, I'm having a small problem with my Mac Pro. Sometimes when the machine auto-boots at 7:30am from having been shut down the day before (as set to), rather than a white screen with an apple in the middle on startup, there's a white screen with a grey circle with a line through it (this happens about 30% of the time just recently)

    After powering down and powering up again, it's fine. Whenever I manually start up the machine, it's fine. Does anyone know what the cause of this is and/or how I can fix the problem?

    I've run TechTools Deluxe on the startup disk, and everything passes (still running the surface scan, which is about 55% complete, but has 0 errors thus far.)

    Running OS 10.4.9, left and middle USB ports being used, LaCie 500GB HD in the FW800. Wireless apple keyboard and wireless mighty mouse. 30" ACD. All the HDs are from Apple, 1GB of the 5GB RAM is from Apple, the rest from Crucial.

    Many thanks in advance,
    Kind Regards
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #3
    No Boot Camp :)


    The HDs, RAM and VRAM all pass their tests... I'm stumped :eek:
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #4
    This doesn't sound EXACTLY like the problem I was having, but similar.

    My 8-core (also with 1GB of 5 from Apple, but the rest from MaxUgrades) would boot up to a blank grey screen, the same shade as the screen with the Apple logo.

    I would restart over and over and it still had it, and holding option would do nothing (I am running Boot Camp).

    Well it turned out it only booted with this screen if my iPod (5th Gen) was connected during startup.

    It seems as long as my iPod is disconnected, it will boot up fine.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #5
    Thanks for the info, there :)

    Interestingly, as luck would have it, it's not happened since I posted in the forums. I guess my Mac figured itself out, or something :D
     

Share This Page