Mac won't boot

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by satan4u, Jan 8, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    #1
    about 30 minutes ago my mac stopped working and it was hot so I figured alright let it cool down and it cooled down then when I turned it back on this is the message out.gives me
    http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y213/cameronol/2011-01-08233326.jpg

    Sorry for the crap quality pic its the best I can do
    i tried resetting like it says but same thing happens
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    blackburn

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Location:
    Where Judas lost it's boots.
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
  4. macrumors 6502a

    blackburn

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Location:
    Where Judas lost it's boots.
    #4
    Looks like there are some artifacts on your kernel panic. Can you boot from the install dvd?
    Looks like either your ram is toast or your graphics chip is running way hot or is toast.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    #5
    No idea I dont have it with me
    I'm currently on holidays lol
    How could that happen it was only doing msn, steam and firefox
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    blackburn

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Location:
    Where Judas lost it's boots.
    #6
    Ups:p but can you boot in safe mode? (press shift when turning on the macbook)
     
  7. macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #7
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    #8
    Just tried no it gets stuck on the apple sign when holding shift
    Yeah I'm used kernal panics in windows lol
    In fact I was in bootcamp when it happened windows blue screened then I noticed it was hot so let it cool down then that message came up for mac and windows won't even boot
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    blackburn

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Location:
    Where Judas lost it's boots.
    #9
    Can you boot while holding command and v? It will boot in verbose mode and we can see when it hangs
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    #10
    Nope that didn't boot either I saw a few dots come up on the screen then it went to a black screen showing the same info that's in the screenshot
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    blackburn

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Location:
    Where Judas lost it's boots.
    #11
    Does the kernel panic show the same artifacts? Looks like either bad ram or logic board trouble:(
     
  12. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    #12
  13. macrumors 6502a

    blackburn

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Location:
    Where Judas lost it's boots.
  14. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    #14
    Just tried the pram didn't fix the problem
    Other link told me how to close a program in mac if it was making the mac act up unless you mean taking out the battery which it says down the bottom
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    blackburn

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Location:
    Where Judas lost it's boots.
    #15
    According to the link I gave you, you don't need to remove the battery if your macbook is an unibody one (looks like it is)

     
  16. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    #16
    Must of missed that lol
    Done it didn't fix the problem either
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    blackburn

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Location:
    Where Judas lost it's boots.
    #17
    looks like its a dead end.:(
    by the looks of it, the problem should be on:
    - ram
    - logic board
    - hard disk (not likely)

    Either you go to an apple store to test the macbook or find some install dvd's compatible with your macbook to test it yourself.
    I've run out of ideas, if anybody as another idea please share:)
     
  18. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    #18
    Looks like a trip to the apple store for me
    thanx for your help and ideas anyway
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    blackburn

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Location:
    Where Judas lost it's boots.
  20. satan4u, Jan 9, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2011

    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    #20
    Took it to the local mac authorised shop where I am and they had a look it was the memory but the memory upgrade I got put in it was dodgy and not genuine mac memory but it was done at another authorised mac shop

    the memory it had in it was iram which is mac ram but not genuine
     

Share This Page