.mac won't install

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by masterjedi73, Jan 27, 2004.

  1. masterjedi73 macrumors 6502

    masterjedi73

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    #1
    Hey everyone -
    I posted this on the .apple support page and haven't heard anything yet....

    I'm having a problem installing the .mac software. (I just purchased my G5 on saturday!). When I click the install button, it runs a program to see if it can install it on the computer and an error message comes up that says:

    iCal cannot be installed on this computer.

    Please quit iCal before running this installer.

    So...I quit iCal (which wasn't running in the first place) and tried again. Still, nothing. I rebooted and nothing. I've been trying several things since Saturday and can't figure it out. I called tech support and the guy there didn't know anything about it. He told me to check the documents listed here (which I'd already done) and I can't find anything.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    So it already has iCal installed? Does it have the other iApps installed (which I presume is what you mean by .Mac apps)? If so why are you trying to reinstall them?
     
  3. masterjedi73 thread starter macrumors 6502

    masterjedi73

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    #3
    The machine only has the stuff installed that came with it out of the factory, and iLife. That's just the error message that appears...but I don't have iDisk or anything else yet.
     
  4. plasticparadox macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    #4
    You don't need to install anything to use .Mac.

    Go to the Apple Menu, and System Preferences. Click the .Mac icon, and enter your username/password. Now you have access to your iDisk and everything else.
     
  5. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #5
    Also, iCal and just about every other Apple app is updated from Software Update, so run that, which you should do anyway.
     

Share This Page