Mac won't let me log into AIM

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by hengyu408, Sep 23, 2006.

  1. hengyu408 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Location:
    san Jose, CA
    #1
    I can't connect to AIM on my iMac using iChat or Adium.

    It tells me that the host was unexpectively lost.

    I can connect to AIM with my PC fine.

    Can someone please help me out here.
     
  2. hengyu408 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Location:
    san Jose, CA
    #2
    "The connection to the host was unexpectedly lost."
     
  3. quigleybc macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #3
    hmmm

    maybe you need to open a port for iChat in your firewall?

    sys pref>sharing>firewall

    is there a little box to check called iChat AV ?

    not sure.
     
  4. hengyu408 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Location:
    san Jose, CA
    #4
    That item isn't there.

    I have a core duo iMac.
     
  5. hengyu408 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Location:
    san Jose, CA
  6. echosmyron macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    #6
    im getting this too. i got a new router today is there something i need to set up on that?
     
  7. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #7
    You should not need any ports open to make a basic connection to AIM.

    Does everything else related to the internet work on either of your macs, hengyu and echosmyron?

    Are you connected wirelessly or by wire?
     

Share This Page