Macbook Pro and Display

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by AppleIntelRock, Oct 8, 2006.

  1. AppleIntelRock macrumors 65816

    AppleIntelRock

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #1
    Does anyone know if it is possible for a macbook pro (17") to run two displays?
     
  2. Josias macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #2
    Yes. Since the Duallink DVI connection supports 3840x2400 pixels out, you should with a DVI splitter (lost the link) be able to run up to two external displays at up to 1920x1200 (23" ACD).
     
  3. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #3
    It can run the internal and an additional external screen.
     
  4. AppleIntelRock thread starter macrumors 65816

    AppleIntelRock

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #4
    wait, so if I got a splitter, I could run two 20" acds AS well as my macbook pro's display?
    Is three displays supported in OSX, I mean, will it give me two mirrored displays, or will I be able to use all three at once?
     
  5. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #5
    You can set it so it will let you use each individually. You could run 2 20" ACDs as well as the macbook pro's display, yes.
     
  6. AppleIntelRock thread starter macrumors 65816

    AppleIntelRock

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #6
    Thanks for the help and quick responses everyone!
     
  7. Scottyk9 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    How exactly do you do this??
    Previous threads regarding this have always referenced a 3rd party peice of equipment (like PCMCIA card) to do this, at some expense.

    I was under the impression that without additional hardware, you could run one external display only.
     
  8. tipdrill407 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    #8
    Has anyone actually tried this and can confirm that it works?
     
  9. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #9
    I was referring to if he got a splitter he could do this.
     
  10. Scottyk9 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #10
    I thought splitters just send the same image to more than one display (i.e. mirroring, not extended desktop).
     
  11. AppleIntelRock thread starter macrumors 65816

    AppleIntelRock

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #11
    as did i. can someone help
     
  12. Scottyk9 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #12
    I can't find the old threads on this, but I am almost positive that a "dual-link" DVI means you can run a 30", but does NOT mean that you can "split" the output to use 2 monitors. You can use the MBP display and another external up to 30", but that is it.

    "Splitter" is just taking one DVI signal and sending it to two monitors (mirrored) - looks like they run around $300.

    A link that looks similar to what I remember from other threads on this topic is here:

    http://www.digitaltigers.com/sidecar.shtml

    - looks like only available for the powerbook. Pricey too...
     
  13. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #13
    I'm wrong, nevermind :eek:
     

Share This Page