Macbook Pro's c2duo able to run Leopard 64bit ?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by MacWorker, Feb 1, 2007.

  1. MacWorker macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    #1
    Will the current Macbook Pro's core 2 duo's on apple's site able to run the 64bit version of Leopard when it arrives ?


    Thanx
     
  2. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #4
    If by "64-bit version" you mean "Leopard," then yes.

    There are no separate versions. Leopard has 64-bit libraries and 32-bit libraries for programs to link against. If your chip is 64-bit capable, then it'll use those. If not, it'll use the 32-bit ones. Simple! Which is, of course, a synonym for Apple. ;)
     
  3. MacWorker thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    #5
    well I bought a macbook pro core2duo 2.33ghz back in Nov. 2006 so I was wondering if it would install the 64 bit verion of Leopard. :)
     
  4. bearbo macrumors 68000

    bearbo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #6
    killmoms is trying to tell you there is only one version of leopard. unlike windows, there aren't two versions in os x.
     
  5. janitorC7 macrumors 6502a

    janitorC7

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Location:
    North Hollywood, CA
    #7
    Basically yes it will. Because its only certain parts of .6 that are 64 bit. They are shipped on the same disk because they are the same operating system. You will just have it nice and fast
     
  6. MacWorker thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
  7. phungy macrumors 68020

    phungy

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Location:
    FL/NY/TX

Share This Page