Mainpage encoding is wrong

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by Palad1, Oct 14, 2004.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Palad1

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    Hello!

    I use safari and firefox both on Mac and PC (well, not safari of course:) ) and I sometimes notice strange characters (white on black diamonds with a question mark inside) on the front page.

    Seems like the html headers declare that the encoding is UTF-8, but it actually seems to be ISO-8859-1, as the artefacts go away when I force this encoding.

    Thanks for your work on the site,
    Cheers,Palad1
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #2
    I get those shapes on Firefox under Win 2k... so at least your not crazy... in this instance... :)
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Palad1

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    Hello,

    I looked deeper into the site and it seems that the forum uses iso8859-1 , whereas the main site uses UTF-8.

    So when the main site includes subject lines from the forums, all hell breaks loose.

    It's just a matter of translating from the forums encoding into the main site encoding. You can do this by calling the php function utf8_encode (see here: http://fr2.php.net/manual/en/function.utf8-encode.php )

    I guess switching the forums over to utf-8 is just too much work, altough it'd be nice for our korean friends :)
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #4
    Thanks for the info - we'll look into it :)
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    combatcolin

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Location:
    Northants, UK
    #5
    Maybe related but when i click on a posting from the main page and then click back to the home page the font changes.

    Never happens with any other web-site.

    Win 2000 Pro
    Win Ex 6.02
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Palad1

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
  7. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #7
    Good sleuthing - I'll follow up with the folks who can change those settings and we'll see what we can do.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Palad1

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    [​IMG]
    Sleuthing - That's what tiggers do best!
     
  9. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #9
    Bien sûr. ;)
     
  10. macrumors 68000

    Squire

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canada
    #10
    Why do you say that? I don't seem to have any problem. (Unless you mean typing in Hangul.)

    Squire
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Palad1

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #11
    yup, that's what I meant :)
     
  12. Moderator emeritus

    kainjow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    #12
    Although reported twice after this thread in 2005, this is still a bug that I came across today (after 4.5 years!). Looks like it's the same too - the forum text is ISO 8859-1 (ISO Latin 1) but the front page is set to UTF-8. Manually overriding the encoding in both Safari and Firefox fixes it.

    Example:
    MREncodings.png
     
  13. macrumors 68040

    RedTomato

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Location:
    .. London ..
    #13
    I get the same thing too sometimes. I always thought it was just a Firefox bug.

    Do you want us to post here if we see the same thing again? (with browser version and webpage / post URL?
     
  14. Moderator emeritus

    kainjow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    #14
    I don't think it's necessary. It's a recurring bug that will continue to show up until it's fixed. It's an encoding issue with the text, not browser/OS.
     
  15. macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    I've seen this issue too on occasion.
     
  16. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Sol III
    #16
    Character Encoding of MacRumors.com

    Hi guys,

    I have to use a PC at work :mad: and whenever I see items with quotation marks, Firefox at least gives it the unknown Unicode character symbol. I have tried several different encodings to no avail.

    What am missing? Can something be done to correct this, as this is pretty much the only site I have seen in a long while where I get unknown character symbols (I even installed all of the foreign language packs just so I don't get unknown char/boxes/weird symbols!)

    Example:
    isn’t ​

    I hope copy/paste will actually work.

    On a side note, you guys should register MacRumours.com and redirect it here.

    Cheers,

    Jon

    PS- After posting it seemed copy/pasting "corrected" the issue at hand, however, on the main page view I get the problem using FF. I haven't checked yet using IE, Safari, Opera, Chrome, etc.

    PPS- In fact I haven't even been to this site on my Mac since I do all of my reading at work where I have more "downtime"! ;-)
     
  17. macrumors G4

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #17
    I believe MacRumors uses UTF-8. If your browser is set to something other than Unicode (UTF-8) for MacRumors, that may explain the character problems.
     
  18. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Sol III
    #18
    I am indeed using UTF-8.

    [​IMG]
    Character Encoding Settings

    [​IMG]
    Example of the problem at hand
     
  19. macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #19
  20. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Sol III
    #20
    Previous Thread Locked For No Reason

    I was brought to this thread and apparently the mods thought it fit to lock it in a unresolved state. Which I think is unfair and was done with too much haste and with the lack of thought.

    Regardless, I will add to this thread instead.

    [​IMG]

    Changing the character encoding to ISO-1859-1 did jack squat.

    [​IMG]

    However, not all quotes seem to have the problem, regardless of their character encodings.
     
  21. Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #21
    ^^^Yeah, that's a problem with pasting curly quotes and apostrophes. We usually fix them, but sometimes they slip through.

    That one should be fixed now.
     

Share This Page