Major iMac issues...

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Kingsly, Oct 13, 2006.

  1. Kingsly macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #1
    Okay, my moms 20" intel iMac is having weird issues. It refuses to import pictures and does strange things with them. Oh, did I mention that its about as slow as her pervious 400mhz G4?

    Genius bar told us it was the aftermarket RAM, which has since been replaced with a whole different (and more expensive) brand. NOTHING. :mad:

    I suspect logic board problems.

    Anyways, she CANNOT live without her iMac (work ceases to exist w/o it –she is a photographer!).

    I need to call AppleCare tomorrow and deal with this once and for all. I *hope* I can get her a loner (or just get it replaced)

    Thoughts? :eek:
     
  2. emptyCup macrumors 65816

    emptyCup

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    #2
    When did this start? Any hardware or software additions right before it happened? You could try doing a clean install of the system (since Apple will probably do this). And, yes, you definitely should call Applecare. Good luck.
     
  3. Kingsly thread starter macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #3
    It was just random. The computer began acting funny, stopped importing pics, and slowly degraded speed-wise. :(
     
  4. beatsme macrumors 65816

    beatsme

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #4
    check out the activity monitor and see if there are any active processes that are hogging CPU time and memory allocation. If so, kill those processes. If not, try creating a new user account and logging in with that.
     
  5. Kingsly thread starter macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #5
    Seriously, I've tried it all. I am sticking to my logic board theory. Its bad... deteriorating as the minutes go by... :( :mad:

    Hopefully Apple will replace it, as this is the second bad iMac we've gotten and she cant afford to be without one for even a day.
     
  6. eRondeau macrumors 6502a

    eRondeau

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Location:
    Canada's South Coast
    #6
    Did you repair permissions? Better yet, download OnyX and let it run one of the standard maintenance routines. And just to be safe, unplug any FW/USB devices and then reboot, then run OnyX. Sometimes FW/USB devices can cause some weird issues.
     
  7. Kingsly thread starter macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #7
    Done it and done it. Haven't tried OnyX though.
     
  8. beatsme macrumors 65816

    beatsme

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #8
    did you try to reset the firmware? might be worth a shot...
     
  9. Kingsly thread starter macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #9
    I would... but Apple locked me out of EFI... I miss the good 'ol days of Open Firmware... :eek:
     
  10. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #10
    Sounds like a spyware problem, what OS are you running on that iMac?
     
  11. Kingsly thread starter macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #11
    ^^
    OSX.

    Never used BootCamp or parallels. Don't use *any* microsoft software.

    EDIT: going to the Apple store now... wish me luck and direct all that good RDF energy my way! ;)
     
  12. Paul S macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    #12
    What's the update on this? Did you get the problem resolved?
     
  13. imacintel macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    #13
    :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page