MB to DVI to VGA to HDMI to Plasma?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by MacBoobsPro, Dec 18, 2006.

  1. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #1
    Will it work?

    MacBook DVI to VGA. VGA to HDMI into Plasma.
     
  2. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #2
    if it does, and thats a big if, don't expect a pretty picture.
     
  3. MacBoobsPro thread starter macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #3
    [/PHP]
    How can i get my MB to display on my TV then?

    TV has S video input, scarts, HDMI and summink else.
     
  4. Laslo Panaflex macrumors 65816

    Laslo Panaflex

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    Tokyo
  5. sycho macrumors 6502a

    sycho

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    #5
    Why not DVI>HDMI?

    Converting VGA to HDMI would be very expensive, since you need equipment to convert the analog RGB signal to digital. Just use a DVI>HDMI cable.
     
  6. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #6
    S-Video would be the easiest.

    link
     
  7. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #7
    No, DVI > HDMI would be the easiest. There's no need to go digital > analog and back to digital again.

    S-video would look like liquid ass.
     
  8. MacBoobsPro thread starter macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #8
    Because the DVI out on the MB is a weird connection. And I cant find a DVI to HDMI with a connector that fits my MB.

    Also why is Apple charging £75 for a cable when the rest of the net is charging £14.99?
     
  9. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #9
    Is there any such thing as Mini-DVI (remember the OP is talking about a MacBook) to HDMI connector? Not on the Apple online store anyway.

    The nearest thing s/he could use is the Mini-DVI -> S-Video/Composite connector.
     
  10. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #10
    You just need the mini-DVI to DVI adapter from Apple. That just converts the smaller port into the larger one, same wiring. Then just a stock-standard DVI -> HDMI cable will be fine.
     
  11. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #11
    hence why i thought S-Video would be easiest. its a mini-DVI port on the MB, and i don't think apple has a straight HDMI adapter for it that i know of.
     
  12. Laslo Panaflex macrumors 65816

    Laslo Panaflex

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #12
    You need this

    and this

    Though you can get a cheaper DVI to HDMI cable on other sites. I have used the combo to hook my girlfriends Macbook to my TV, works great.
     
  13. MacBoobsPro thread starter macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #13
    Ooh that would make sense. Im still getting used to all these frickin connectors. Youd think there would be one standard connector. :rolleyes:

    So I need a miniDVI to DVI then a DVI to HDMI unless my TV has DVI which I am about to check. :D
     
  14. MacBoobsPro thread starter macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #14
    It has a shed load of connectors for loads of stuff. Even a freakin card reader :cool: I think I will stick with DVI to HDMI :D

    Thanks
     
  15. CEAbiscuit macrumors 6502a

    CEAbiscuit

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Kitchen
    #15
    If you need audio, there's even more connectors...:p The DVI isn't going to deliver sound to your plasma, hdmi or no hdmi.
     
  16. MacBoobsPro thread starter macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #16
    So how would you get audio OUT of the MB? Headphones to Audio In (red and yellow)?
     
  17. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #17
    Red and white. And that's easy—mini-jack to RCA phono cable. Available in almost all electronics stores.
     
  18. MacBoobsPro thread starter macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #18
    Rate oh.
     
  19. Joony macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
  20. MacBoobsPro thread starter macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #20
    Whats this guy going on about? Its a review of Belkins DVI to HDMI cable on Apples UK Store. Has he just got a **** TV or what?

    ...

    "Oh sure, you get a picture, but it won't fit your television screen properly. This is because the graphics cards in Apple Macs are not HDMI compatible.

    You can download some very complicated software that will help you adjust the screen, but this means hours of configuring it, rebooting your Mac, then looking to see how much of the display is missing, ad infinitum.

    But, due to a technical limitation in OS X, you will never get the bottom 12 pixels of the display to show, no matter what you do. This means the bottom of the dock will be off the bottom of the screen, so you won't see those little arrows that tell you whether a program is running or not.

    I advise you forget this item and use a decent VGA cable (or DVI if your TV supports it)."

    :confused:
     
  21. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #21
    He appears to be whinging about Overscan which all TVs do (and will result in bits of the picture going off screen). It's nothing to do with the graphics cards or hardware limitations or HDMI compatibility. Newer good TVs can turn overscan off.
     
  22. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #22
    I just did VGA -> LCD TV with a separate 3.5mm -> RCA cable for audio. I did have to use SwitchResX and do a slight bit of fiddling to get the native resolution to work. But my screen is fairly intelligent about all of this -- if I send 1024x768 to my TV it automatically stretches to fit the screen, for instance. It's not so bad. If you do have to use SwitchResX, we can help you figure it out. ;)
     
  23. MacBoobsPro thread starter macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #23
    I dont think my TV or MB has VGA?

    Im gonna stick with DVI - HDMI. (i think) :D
     
  24. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #24
    No, no, I'm not suggesting you use VGA. Use DVI as has been said in other posts. I'm just saying that if you do need to use software to correct for problems with getting the TV to adopt the right screen resolution, it's not that hard to do.
     
  25. MacBoobsPro thread starter macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #25
    I scheee :)
     

Share This Page