Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

aaron.lee2006

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Feb 23, 2006
Ontario, Canada
I am a highschool student and was looking at a refurb MBP. The refurb was in my price range as it would have cost just as much as the MacBook I was going to get with the upgrades. Anyway, say in like 3 years when I go to college is an MBP upgradeable, I am an experienced computer person so I would know how to do it, is it possible to upgrade these machines when they become outdated?

DJMastaWes

macrumors 65816
Jan 14, 2006
Montreal, Quebec
aaron.lee2006 said:
Great:D Do you think it will be a good machine for a 15 year old student in hs who takes mainly art courses?
Yes. I'm waiting untill WWDC for my MBP (I'm 14) I can't wait for it. I really hope it IS updated at WWDC. Can anyone give me a % on the odds it WILL be updated? Thanks.

Eidorian

macrumors Penryn
Mar 23, 2005
Indianapolis
DJMastaWes said:
Yes. I'm waiting untill WWDC for my MBP (I'm 14) I can't wait for it. I really hope it IS updated at WWDC. Can anyone give me a % on the odds it WILL be updated? Thanks.
Merom is slated to ship in August but Apple might not have them for two weeks after Intel launches it. So we might or might not see it in August.

DJMastaWes

macrumors 65816
Jan 14, 2006
Montreal, Quebec
Boy I hope it's mid augost or so. I would feel better if lets say they relisead it at WWDC but didint ship untill mid agoust, rather then waiting not knowing when its going to be annouced and waiitng untill augost. I'm not sure My computer will hold up untill like september or october, so augost is what I'm hopeing for.

apunkrockmonk

macrumors 6502a
Nov 20, 2005
Rochester, NY
What do high school students need with the portability of a laptop?

I'm a sophomore in college but I sure as hell know there were no laptops allowed in class in my high school...

DJMastaWes

macrumors 65816
Jan 14, 2006
Montreal, Quebec