Mission Control display bug still not fixed in GM. Unbelievable!

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Goldfrapp, Apr 2, 2011.

  1. Goldfrapp, Apr 2, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 2, 2011

    macrumors 68040

    Goldfrapp

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    #1
    Clearly it is a display bug. And why hasn't it been fixed yet? Anyone else experiencing something similar? Note that it is not a persistent bug. It seems to occur only when certain apps are running in a certain order. So you may not even notice it straight away. But it does happen. Have a look:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    #2
  3. macrumors 6502a

    hellomoto4

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    Yeah still getting this, albeit less than DP1, in my opinion.
    It looks horrible though. Hopefully a fix is found soon!
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    ssdeg7

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    #4
    This problem is still there in the GM seed. I wonder if they want to fix it or not
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #5
    It's annoying alright.
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    knuckleball

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Location:
    Halifax, NS
    #6
    I'm also getting this bug somewhat frequently in the GM. In general, things seem smoother, but this one is very irritating.
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    #7
    It's not happening for me.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Goldfrapp

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    #8
    This is GM. Unbelievable! :mad:

    [​IMG]
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #9
    Works fine for me, the only thing I'm experiencing is slight lag when opening Launchpad..
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #10
    PBF: Did you file a bug report with Apple?
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI, USA
    #11
    :eek: OMG outrage! Someone make a sign and protest. :rolleyes:
     
  12. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    #12
    I hope every single one of you filed a bug report with Apple. I mean, you must all be developers and know how important that is, right? :rolleyes:
     
  13. macrumors demi-god

    ChristianJapan

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Location:
    日本
    #13
    +1, please file a bug report to Apple. They listen to those.
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #14
    I have a dozen of reproducible bugs filed since DP1, most are probably easy to fix bugs (these are design bugs, not some obscure issues with APIs), and they're not fixed in the GM. :mad:
     
  15. macrumors 68030

    baryon

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #15
    I think Apple doesn't even intend to fix these until 10.7.3. I'm not being sarcastic, I really think this is the case. The way software development works is that there's always a hell of a lot of stuff to do, and only enough time to do a fraction of that stuff. They have priorities, and the API, Compatibility and Kernel Panic issues are on the top of that list. They won't even touch any more minor bugs until those have been fixed, which explains why they don't ever get fixed until the OS "matures".

    There's nothing wrong with that approach, but the problem is that Apple will officially call 10.7.0 a finished release of Lion, whereas they should just call it open beta, as they know very well that many issues have not even been addressed yet.

    This was the case with Snow Leopard too.
     
  16. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #16
    I filed a radar just in case no-one else did. I doubt it won't be marked as a duplicate though.
     
  17. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    #17
    What is the bug? I don't get what the problem is.
     
  18. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #18
    With two windows open in the current space the thumbnails of the other spaces can be completely or partially obscured in Mission Control.

    I have no idea what's meant to be wrong here.
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    Lord Appleseed

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Location:
    Apple Manor
    #19
    When you check out the screenshot you can see that the windows are not small as normal but still big and partially interfering with each other.

    It's supposed to look like that:

    [​IMG]

    However i dont have the problem at all. I can not seem to make this problem occur at all on my Lion GM.
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    #20
    The layout is meant to be like this when there are less than 3 windows open. Nevertheless, I prefer when the windows are not stacked on top of each other unless it is the same application. For me mission control gets messed up quite often, at least 2 times every few hours.
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    #21
    Mission control is a step backwards. Defiantly more complicated and less features than Expose and Spaces.
     
  22. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    #22
    Based on that statement I'm going to go out on a limb and say you've never done any serious programming, or more likely none at all.
     
  23. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    #23
    Mission control is definitely buggy with me on GM. I get the stacked appearance sometimes, but other times a get this view.

    Very buggy and not attractive.
     

    Attached Files:

  24. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Into the lungs of Hell
    #24
    I've filed the same bug in every DP.

    On another note, the bug seems to appear on my MacBook and not on my iMac. Is the screen size limiting? I am not very sure but MacBookAir surely does display these windows properly.

    Even I can't believe this bug still not fixed by Apple.
     
  25. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    #25
    Mission Control has been a massive fail IMO.
     

Share This Page