Multitasking .... Saved state?

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by LIVEFRMNYC, Jun 13, 2013.

  1. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    #1
    Just wondering. Since iOS7 now shows the screenshot of apps in Multitasking, does it go to the same saved state as shown in the screenshot?

    Reason I'm asking is cause, I've had apps reload on me when choosing from the multitask bar on my iPad and iPhone iOS6 and below.

    On my Android phones, it always goes back to the screenshot state even if I clear RAM and even if it's been a couple days, with the exception of apps that require secure logins(like banking apps). If I clear RAM, the app will reload, but it will still reload back to the screenshot state. Will even play videos from where I left off and take me back to the same browser page shown on the screenshot.

    Does the iOS7 multitasking do the same? This would probably be the only reason I'll update my iPad 2 and my iPhone 4S(which I use as a backup).


    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    #2
    No. multitasking still acts the same, which is one of the reasons I don't get this new multitasking view. Unless there will be some change apps will be able to make. but i think ios by default should save states to disk
     
  3. macrumors 68040

    chrf097

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #3
    iOS 7 introduces real multitasking, similar to Android. One of the features is real time refreshing.

    The reason why it's not working with third party apps is because no third party app has been updated to use the feature.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    #4
    Even with default apps?

    Ok, I guess I'll ask again after it's released. I hope it's not device dependent.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Feed Me

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Location:
    Location Location
    #5
    I think it's just that iOS 7 "screenshots" the app as you close it, allowing it to show you an image of the app's UI in the new app-switcher.

    I've noticed that the UI displayed in the switcher is often slightly out of date, or just wrong, when compared to the actual running app. I just put this down to it being beta 1.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    #6
    One thing that's cool while in the app switcher while the camera is running in the background you can take a pic. Multi tasking isint the same for default apps. Anothr example aside from above is if I load a page in sagar and a double click the home button, you'll see Safari loading while in the multi tasking tray I hope some of this made sense lol.
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    DDustiNN

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    #7
    Not yet. This will be app dependent, and of course no apps have been updated for iOS 7 yet (and can't be until it's released). What you're describing is the new Background App Refresh feature. You won't see this with third party apps until the public release, and even then, only when/if those apps are actually updated with that feature and you enable it in Settings.
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    CosmoPilot

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Location:
    South Carolina
    #8
    Not sure if this is what you're asking or not, but watching a video yesterday...when the guy went to multitasking view, the camera.app (not the front center card) was showing a real time camera view (i.e., it was working in the background). I thought that was cool.
     
  9. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #9
    Actually the apps will be able to receive silent push notifications to download new information. The app can be told to stay in the background and fetch new information. So when the user comes back to the app new information will be ready to view.
    https://developer.apple.com/wwdc/videos/?include=204#204
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    #10
    So there's live action going on in the multitask screens. Nice.
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    #11
    Yep there is.
     
  12. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #12
    Yes, apps can be written to take advantage of a lot of new actions while they are in the background.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    #13
    I just hope they won't reload after an extended period of time.
     
  14. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #14
    The controls are pretty granular. The app does not need to visually reload, it can be told to fetch new information in the background without the user noticing.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    #15
    Yes, but I'm just hoping for example: I don't use Safari for a good 8 hours, I then go back to Safari via multitasking screen, will it go straight to the page that's on the screenshot or reload home page? Will it also reload with saved info or simply refresh.

    On Android I can be the middle of typing in a post on a forum, press home button, and come back later. It will pop up with everything I typed in the quote screen. As long as I don't mess with manually clearing RAM.
     
  16. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #16
    The saved state should keep your text entry. I've heard in Safari in iOS6 that it will lose the txt if you hit the back button then go forward again. Some have said it's site specific.

    The demo I have seen the app is closed. In the background new data is fetched. The app is activated again and new posts are un-read in blue.

    Now this is different than the problem of losing txt entered into a form. It's too early to tell I think.
    Did that make sense?
     
  17. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    #17
    The screenshots in the multitasking view are actually live. You can watch somebody type and respond to you in Messages in the multitasking view, for example, or see a web page load. I think they tweaked how multitasking functions in iOS 7.
     
  18. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    #18
    Yea, thanks I got it.
     
  19. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    #19
    The default apps still timeout. For example if I go to a certain page in the settings app and try to go back to it later, it will reload from the main settings page again. I don't know if this is a memory limitation or designed to close after so many minutes
     
  20. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    #20
    Yea, that was basically my concern.
     

Share This Page