Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

iamnotme

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 24, 2015
SW Ontario, Canada
So here is my take on the 12” rMB 2015 if you are considering getting one. After 2 weeks of ownership and fairly non-stop use, I think I can form some opinions.

Why did I get it in the first place?

My daily driver has been a 2014 rMBP 13 which is a GREAT machine but I’m on the road for work pretty much 24/7 and wanted something lighter and easy to carry. If the air had a decent screen, I probably would have got the 11” version but after having used my retina for nearly a year, I just couldn’t imagine having that screen. (First world problems I know)

I just got back from a tradeshow and the only machine I had with throughout the entire week was the 12” rMB. I work in the video industry and my main device I work with is a USB TV tuner like device. I run both Ubuntu and Windows 8.1 in parallels. I have the base model with 1.1GHz CPU and and they both run great, even at the same time. I even have a fair sized netbeans Java project I work on regularly and it compiles just fine.

It never runs hot, I have yet to see the overheating warning others have noticed before.

Battery life is decent, even when windows is running in VM. I easily got through my 7 hour days at the show without issues. For movies and browsing only, I can get 10 hours out of the battery with the screen roughly at 25-40%. I was a bit worried about CPU performance but unless you are compressing movies, it’s great. It’s definitely faster than the Atom based Surface 3 which I thought about getting. (I know the Surface 3 is half the price so it’s not a fair comparison)

The screen is great as always, the black is really black and color depth is really nice.