Need step-by-step help in geektool weather image!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Emeraldscorpion, Jul 14, 2009.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    #1
    Hi Guys, I need a step-by-step guide to display my weather image in Geektool. I got the idea from here:http://iamawesome.net/2009/04/my-geektool-setup/
    The php script part beats me. My weather area code is SNXX0005(Serangoon, Singapore). Thanks in advance!
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    Designer Dale

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Folding space
    #2
    Hi,

    I don't want to deter you from dabbling in Geek Tool, but I took a look at it and it was easy for me to decide that this was the domain of folks who have previous experience with code. Geek Tool hacks your system and you need to be able to back yourself out if something goes bad. I decided to just admire what these people can do with it in the Post Your Desktop thread that runs each month. I followed the link you posted and the fine print at the end said that the script had produced errors due to loosing punctuation in spots when posted. Step by step won't happen.

    Relax and enjoy the show. I'm happy with my Widgets.

    Dale
     
  3. macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #3

    You will get the help you need in the GeekTool thread

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  4. macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #4
    Not...really.... Shell scripts really aren't considered "hacking."
    Not Geektool's fault; blame vBulletin.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    #5
    Errm...

    Actually what I need is the image of the weather. And, i'm determined to used Geektool.
    Also, I prefer suggestions without the use of Lynx.
    I need something like this:
     

    Attached Files:

  6. macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #6
    So what happens when you copy/paste that guy's php into your geektool? It works just fine for me.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    #7
    ...

    The thing is, I don't know how to use php scripts, except that i think that you're supposed to upload them to a server...I think.
     
  8. macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #8
    So do you even know what GeekTool is, or did you just see the end result and expect everyone else to do the necessary background explaining for you? Have you even tried to learn how to use it?
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    #9
    Of course

    Of course i did! Here's my wallpaper and geektool prefs right now:
     

    Attached Files:

  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
  11. macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #11
    There are instructions on how to display web images using the Lynx browser in the Geektool thread. Please search through that.
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
  13. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    #14
    Unable to get the weather descriptions out

    Hi,

    Have been having trouble getting the description out on my desktop. Did manage to get the weather image out tho. Tried using countless scripts to troubleshoot. It just will not come out. Anyone can help?
     

Share This Page