NetBeans 6.7 released

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by wrldwzrd89, Jun 29, 2009.

  1. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #1
    I haven't tried it yet, but I hear it has some nice features, for Java, PHP, and Ruby developers.

    http://www.netbeans.org/
     
  2. Scott6666 macrumors 65816

    Scott6666

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
  3. elppa macrumors 68040

    elppa

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
  4. lazydog macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Location:
    Cramlington, UK
    #4
    Yup, thanks and downloading it here too!

    ß e n
     
  5. Meek Wriggle macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    It's been less than a week since Eclipse released Galileo too! I'm spoiled for choice now.

    EDIT: One thing I prefer about Eclipse is that it generates less files when you make a new project. For a newbie to programming, Netbeans looks a little daunting. Eclipse has a streamlined feel about it, although I've heard that Netbeans has better support for creating GUI's in Java.
     
  6. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #6
    No matter how much I try and like Netbeans I always end up back with Xcode after a short time. It just runs so much faster than Netbeans.

    Still I'd be interested to know if they had managed to speed it up at all in this release.
     
  7. wrldwzrd89 thread starter macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #7
    NetBeans is faster in this release, mostly because of the loading features on demand that it now does. Launch time, however, is still WAY slower than Xcode.
     
  8. lazydog macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Location:
    Cramlington, UK
    #8
    Are you running Java 6 64bit?

    ß e n
     
  9. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #9
    No, J2SE 5 32 bit is my first choice in the Java Preferences.
     
  10. lazydog macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Location:
    Cramlington, UK
    #10
    Okay, I mentioned it because switching to 6 64bit made some other stuff I was working on much faster.

    ß e n
     
  11. Meek Wriggle macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    How did you do this? Switch the JDK I mean.

    EDIT: Never mind, I figured it out. For those who don't know how to change your default JVM just go to Spotlight and type in Java Preferences. Just drag Java 6 up to the top in both the Applet and Application section.
     
  12. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #12
    I seem to remember I put it on J2SE 5 32 bit because I was having problems writing some JSPs and Servlets with the 64 bit version of Java 6.
     

Share This Page