Network Connectivity

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by keithclark, May 12, 2013.

  1. keithclark
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    #1
    I don't seem to be able to get my newly aquired Power PC G3 connected to my network.

    I have it set for Connect via Ethernet and Usining DHCP server.

    It seems to connect to an unknown ip address.
     
  2. MisterKeeks
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #2
    Try setting DNS to 8.8.8.8 8.8.4.4 . These are Google's DNS servers.
     
  3. Intell
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #3
    What is the first three numbers of the IP address it's getting? What OS is it currently running.
     
  4. keithclark
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    #4
    It is running 9.2 and what it comes up with are:

    IP address 169.254.60.11
    Subnet: 255.255.0.0
    Router: 169.254.60.11
    Name Server: 224.0.0.251

    These should be
    IP address: 192.160.10.x (as assigned by the DHCP server)
    Subnet: 255.255.255.0
    Router:192.168.10.1
     
  5. DJLC
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    DJLC

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    #5
    That 169 address it's getting is self-assigned, so it isn't able to reach your DHCP server.

    Double check all your connections and cables between the Mac and the DHCP server / router. You could also try manually inputting the info to see if OS9 just doesn't like your DHCP server.
     
  6. keithclark
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    #6
    I've hooked up my Linux netbook to the same wire and it works fine. I have tried to put the settings in manually but they still do not work.

    The only way I know of checking in OS9 (I've never run an Apple OS before) is to open the Opera browser (the former owner said that this worked for them).
     
  7. keithclark
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    #7
    I'm beginning to think that this old machine just cannot connect any more.
     
  8. keithclark
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    #8
    I'm still stuck here unable to connect this machine! The old owner told me it connected to her network without issue. On mine no luck at all.
     
  9. rabidz7
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    #9
    Just punch in the subnet. ip, and router
    ip in system preferences. Set the settings to MANUAL, not DHCP.
    SUBNET=255.255.255.0
    ROUTER IP=what you set it to or what it says on the router box
    COMPUTER IP=your router ip with a different end number. If your router IP is 192.168.1.1 your computer IP can be 192.168.1.2 The last number in the computer IP is the only different number.
    X=a number of your choice
    N=a preset number that is the same on the router IP and the computer IP
    Z=a preset number that is different on your computer and router IP

    ROUTER IP will always be 192.168.n.z
    COMPUTER IP will always be 192.168.n.x
    SUBNET will always be 255.255.255.0
     
  10. keithclark
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    #10
    I have tried this and I still cannot access the internet with Opera.
     
  11. rabidz7
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    #11
    Does ethernet work?
     
  12. keithclark
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    #12
    Not sure what you mean by that. Everything from the cable back works fine. I plug it into my Linux netbook and it connects just fine.
     

Share This Page