Networked Slave Applications - Render Farm???

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by gelbin, Aug 28, 2002.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    #1
    I am considering a new pmac. I currently have a g4 450. I could also upgrade to 1ghz with one of the new upgrade cards. one of the considerations is whether i can still make use of the g4 450 when i get a new one.

    on that note, are there any applications that in standard form support network based neural networks - i mean, like if fcp would farm out rendering to the other machine, i think combustion will do this, are there 3d programs that will as well??

    Any info on specific software, to include 3d, video, and even audio (though i find that least likely) would be appreciated.

    chris
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    I *think* Bryce5 supports network rendering.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    FattyMembrane

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Location:
    bat country
    #3
    i'm pretty sure that if you run yellowdog linux you can set up a renderman render farm, but don't quote me on that
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Location:
    PA
    #4
    Bryce 5 does it and it does it cross platform. I am currently rendering a scene for for class during down time in the labs. Got 13 450 G4s working on it right now. And i must say it works beautifully.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    #5
    bryce

    does each computer have to have bryce on it?
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Location:
    PA
    #6
    Bryce 5 comes with a render client called Bryce Lightining. This needs to be installed and running on each machine you intend to use for rendering. once up and running it comunicates with bryce 5.
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    mymemory

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Location:
    Miami
    #7
    After Effects has a render soft too.

    I recomend you to add ram to your 450. I had a G4 400 and changed the processor for a dual 500, the difference wasn't that much.

    Right now I'm setting up the dual 500 with 2 powerbooks G3 500 (Pismos). I haven't finish it yet but I have read some articles about render in network that recomend to keep your old macs to use them as a render farm, the speed can be close to half the time.

    After I set up my system I'm gona open a threat about it, I may do it after the week end.
     

Share This Page