Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

javex

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 27, 2003
Toronto
Hey guys...

I am a longtime PC veteran who has recently purchased a coupla macs. I would love to network at least one of them to my PC for file and print sharing.

I have tried everything I can think of (creating a seperate account for windows users on OSX, and changing the share properties to accept windows logons)

On the XP machine ive shared a folder that can be acessed through the "my network places" icon on the PC.

Ive connected the two systems with an ethernet cable that came bundled with my powerbook, and cant get one to recognize the other at all. Using the network utility in OSX, i cannot get a response when pinging the PC's IP.

The cable works when connecting the two macs together (i simply plug em in and cmd K) I can copy files back and forth no prob.

Ive tried using the ethernet cable that hooks one of my other PC's to a DSL modem but its the same problem.

What have I missed here? From what I've gathered, this should be quite straightforward.

Thanks,

Javex:confused:

javex

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 27, 2003
Toronto
oh

By the way, the system i want to network is a G4 933 running os 10.2.7

The powerbook that i can network this system to without any problems is one of the new 15.2" 1 gig, running the same os

Thanks!

Javex

Schiffi

macrumors 6502a
May 22, 2003
Missouri
OSX>XP

In Finder's Menubar click Go>Connect to Server...

Find your PC listed (should be the name of your pc on a network)

You'll be able to connect to the shared folders this way.

XP>OSX

In OSX's System Preferences enable Windows File Sharing under Sharing

In OSX's System Preferences again, under Accounts, go to Edit Account, and check the box (after entering your password) to allow logging in from Windows