New computer, will iPod work?

Discussion in 'iPod' started by wizwaz3, Feb 9, 2007.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    wizwaz3

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Location:
    Northern Arizona
    #1
    I just bought a new iMac and am migrating from a Windows PC and I was wondering, will I need to uninstall my iPod so it can be used on my new Mac? If so, how do I do it? Thanx in advance! :)
    :apple:
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    Jasonbot

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Rainbow Nation RSA
    #2
    You will have to reformat it for mac OS X if you would like to be able to install software updates, if not then it will work 99.98%
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    wizwaz3

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Location:
    Northern Arizona
    #3
    Yeah, that's fine, but I don't need to deauthorize my old PC or anything?
     
  4. macrumors G4

    Teh Don Ditty

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #4
    Only if you purchased music/movies from iTunes. If I'm not mistaken, iTunes lets you authorize up to 5 computers. It's up to you.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    wizwaz3

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Location:
    Northern Arizona
    #5
    Ok, thanks! I think I have 1 computer left. lol :p
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    zephead

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    in your pants
    #6
    Please, DON'T forget to deauthorize your PC before you get rid of/reformat it. I've made the mistake of not deauthorizing a few times. There were a few times where I forgot to deauthorize before reformatting it, and the time I forgot to deauthorize before reformatting it for the last time and giving it to my cousin. I fixed it with "Deauthorize all" last year, but you can only do that once a year.
     
  7. macrumors G4

    Teh Don Ditty

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #7
    Good point. I forgot to mention that. Anyways, good luck with your iMac!
     
  8. macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #8
    I've seen people mention the Deauthorzie All only working once a year, but I am SURE I've done it more frequently than that... is this a relatively new rule?
     
  9. macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #9
    I think it's just up to Apple, kind of like them letting you re-download music that you lose and don't back up, even though the official policy is different.
     
  10. macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #10
    I'm pretty sure I didn't even need to call Apple. I just clicked on the Deauthorize All machines option in iTunes and it did it. Maybe I'm crazy though!
     

Share This Page