Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

AppMann

macrumors member
Original poster
Dec 16, 2013
Ireland
Hi,

I am a graphic designer, I ordered my Mac Pro but wont be here till February. :( But I am looking for a USB Hub to keep my desk free of cables. I have two or three drives connected to the Hub.
I have thinking off this one:
http://www.amazon.com/Anker®-7-Port...669&sr=1-2&keywords=Anker®+USB+3.0+7-Port+Hub

But I am not fully sure will it be compatible with OS X Mavericks, any recommendations will be grateful.

Thanks in advance. :)

Spinland

macrumors 6502
Jul 16, 2011
Utica, NY, USA

AppMann

macrumors member
Original poster
Dec 16, 2013
Ireland
I just looked over the one you already mentioned and I don't see any reason it wouldn't work fine for you. It's just a USB hub, no drivers or anything, you should have no trouble. Here's the link for it at Amazon UK:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Anker®-Uspeed-7-Port-Adapter-Chipset/dp/B006TTA75Y/ref=sr_1_fkmr0_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1388280927&sr=8-1-fkmr0&keywords=iDsonix™+Uspeed+7+Port+USB+3.0+Hub

I forgot I have the cinema display, with three extra ports, so do I really need the USB hub, would you think.

Spinland

macrumors 6502
Jul 16, 2011
Utica, NY, USA
I forgot I have the cinema display, with three extra ports, so do I really need the USB hub, would you think.

The Apple Cinema Display is going to expand one of your nMP USB 3
ports into three USB 2 ports. If you only have USB 2 drives to connect to it then that might be fine, but if you need USB 3 you won't want to go that route.

ETA: besides, do you really want all your display USB ports taken up by drives? Personally I run a Cinema Display also, but those ports are already taken up by my wired keyboard, my Wacom tablet, and the small USB 2 hub I keep on my desk for quick thumb drive access and suchlike.

AppMann

macrumors member
Original poster
Dec 16, 2013
Ireland