New MBA Problems

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by ghsNick, Jul 21, 2011.

  1. macrumors 68000

    ghsNick

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #1
    Okay...nothing serious...but help me out real quick.

    The Volume Up button seems off...like it doesn't register sometimes...but it feels like the key is off too. I notices if I push it down (firmly, but not smashing) it aligns it and makes it better. But it returns to not going down flush.

    Also...I don't have any audio or videos since it's new...but it showing a little blue/purple for music and video. How can I find where this is to remove it?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macrumors 65816

    myrtlebee

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    #2
    I would venture to guess those are Apple's sounds/ music in iMovie and video clips for practicing in Garageband. Maybe not, I don't know. As far as the keys- if you have the 11-inch, the top row of keys definitely seems more delicate. When I first ordered and recieved mine last year, I had to return it because the "rewind" key literally snapped off. Before it did- it acted like yours is. Perhaps you could stop by the Apple Store and ask for a replacement key to be put on for you. Haven't had that happen yet with this one (also an 11 inch), but some of them seem more "loose" than I'd like and even a bit "wiggly".
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68000

    ghsNick

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #3
    It's like the spring underneath isn't going down evenly and when I firmly push it down, it makes a tiny snap and works normally again.

    It seems to get messed up if I don't hit it in the center.

    But I have AppleCare and if it did "eventually" break it would be an easy fix that's covered right?
     
  4. macrumors demi-god

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    #4
    Yup. If you have an Apple Store nearby, you can make a Genius Bar appointment and they can usually do key repairs while you wait. If it's bad, they'll order a whole new keyboard for your Mac. If no store is nearby, AppleCare can do the repair via shipping it back overnight (at no cost to you for shipping).

    There's a way to do a Spotlight search for all video content, but google's failing me at the moment. :/
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68000

    ghsNick

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #5
    The key seems to be good now.
    I'll play it by ear...more of my "OCD" lol.

    And yeah I'm assuming it's that...it's not taking up too much.

    I love this thing!
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    joekix

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    earth, long beach CA to be exact
    #6
    how do you get your mac to breakdown what you have like in your pic? thanks in advance
     
  7. macrumors demi-god

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    #7
    Probably a quicker way, but here's my scenic route:

    Apple Icon > About This Mac > More Info... > Storage
     

    Attached Files:

  8. macrumors 6502

    joekix

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    earth, long beach CA to be exact
    #8
    thanks :)
     
  9. macrumors 68030

    WardC

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #9
    Interesting, this feature fails to work for RAID arrays, it won't show the graph for a multi-disk RAID 0 striped array, it shows the disk icon with no graph to the side of it.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 68000

    ghsNick

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #10
    So I saw this for AppleCare:

    What’s covered — Mac

    Your Mac computer
    Included accessories such as the power adapter
    Apple memory (RAM)
    AirPort Express Base Station, AirPort Extreme Base Station, or Time Capsule2
    MacBook Air SuperDrive (for MacBook Air and Mac mini with Snow Leopard Server only)
    Apple display purchased with your Mac

    Your Mac Computer cover the keyboard/trackpad etc. Right?
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #11
    Wait, so if I buy AppleCare for my MBA, they automatically cover my Airport Extreme Base Station?
     
  12. macrumors demi-god

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    #12
    Yup.

    "The AirPort device or Time Capsule must be purchased up to two years before your Mac purchase or during the term of your AppleCare Protection Plan coverage."

    It's the #1 bullet at the bottom of the page:
    http://www.apple.com/support/products/mac.html
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 68000

    ghsNick

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #13
    Does it cover a key if it breaks?
     
  14. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #14
    Your basic warranty (and AppleCare) would cover the broken key assuming it was a manufacturer defect and not abuse. Since it's a day old, I'm guessing they'll just give you a new Mac if they can't quickly fix the keyboard, and then fix and re-sell the other one.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors 68000

    ghsNick

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #15
    Yeah it works now...but it doesn't go down flush sometimes.

    It's not the key...it's like the hinge underneath it...I feel taking it off and putting it back on would fix it.

    If I took it in there now they wouldn't see a problem and would think I'm loko.

    But if it breaks in a year (and all the other keys are in mint condition) they would be obligated to fix it as in there's no reason (or way) to abuse the Volume Up key, right?. Not to mention it's one of the smallest keys...so they'd realize it's very sensitive.
     
  16. macrumors demi-god

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    #16
    As long as it's obvious you didn't cause the problem by physical abuse (i.e. there's no drop marks on your case, etc), yeah, they'll fix keys anytime during your included one-year hardware warranty, or three years from your date of purchase if you bought AppleCare.
     
  17. thread starter macrumors 68000

    ghsNick

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #17
    Ok, cool thanks.

    Yeah I've been to my store so many times I don't want to go back lol.

    Yeah I just got a GForm case (in case the unexpected happens) so there shouldn't EVER be drop marks lol.
     

Share This Page