Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Populus

macrumors 601
Original poster
Aug 24, 2012
Spain, Europe
Hello everyone!

As the title says, I’m new to Apple Music.

I’ve been using Spotify every now and then, for more than 10 years, because on Mac and iPad you can use it freely with ads. However, I never used it intensely. It was fine, and I hope they remain an alternative to Apple Music.

However, now that I have both my M2 iPad Pro and iPhone SE 3 on iOS 16.6.1, I decided to pull the trigger and use the 6 months that Apple gave me for free for the Beats Solo Pro I purchased three years ago. I hadn’t used it before, because 1) I preferred to use a well known service such as Spotify, 2) I was afraid my iPhone 8 on iOS 15 didn’t offer me the best experience, and 3) the fear of losing all the music I had transferred to iTunes Match, because as far as I know, when you add music from Apple Music to your library, you cannot keep it after the subscription ends (which is logical), and I don’t know if my previously matched music would be locked by Apple Music.

But I finally did it. I activated the free 6 months of Apple Music and I’m really amazed, by the audio quality, by the lyrics availability, by the karaoke mode, and by the suggestions. And of course, because of the super efficient native Music app. I can say that, overall, I prefer the experience Apple Music offers me.

Not everything is better than Spotify though. And that’s why I’m opening this thread: I’m finding the interface a bit confusing, especially on the iPad, maybe because I’m new to the service. Here are my doubts:

1) Once you search an artist, and select it, when you’re on the Artist page, you cannot search any song by the title. There’s not a search within the Artist page. You have to perform the search with both the artist and the title from the search page. Am I missing something?