Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

aquatwo

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 31, 2005
Hertfordshire, UK
Hello everyone,

I am a diving instructor and have recently decided to become an u/w videographer instead. I know that I will enjoy the creative side, and wont have to dive 4 times a day. I have been advised by other videographers to get a Mac with iMovies to start with and then possibly upgrade the software later to Final Cut when I know a bit more about what I am doing.

I have been researching the market and it looks like the Powerbook is a good bet as I travel a lot. My problem is that I dont want to buy one and find out there is not enough memory or the graphic card is not sufficient or whatever. I simply don't know enough about digital video requirements and a bit lost in all the lingo.

I have decided on the Powerbook G4, 15" and beefed up all the specs that were available just to be sure... The spec I have arrived at is below, only the price tag on it is making me weep a little :)))

Does anyone know if all the upgrades are neccesary (in bold) for video editing as I am not really planning to use it for much else apart from the Internet of course.

In general I am very exited about owning a mac laptop as every review or comment i read people say they are in love with them :))

PowerBook G4 – 15”

Specifications:

2GB PC2-4200 DDR2 - 2x1GB SO-DIMMs

100GB Ultra ATA drive (7200rpm)

SuperDrive DL (DVD±RW/CD-RW)

 1440 x 960 resolution
 1.67GHz PowerPC G4
 ATI Mobility Radeon 9700 - 128MB DDR
 15.2-inch TFT display
 USB 2.0 and FireWire 400 & 800

Price: £1607.67
VAT: £281.34
Total: £1889.01 (ouch!)

Thanks in advance for any comments

Chundles

macrumors G5
Jul 4, 2005
aquatwo said:
Hello everyone,