Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

elorc

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 1, 2009
I have an NSTableView with four columns in a document-based Cocoa app. This tableview uses an NSMutableArray to hold its values. The four columns are:

1: User's name
2: Starting Balance
3: Deductions
4: Current Balance

What I want to happen is every time columns 2 or 3 are changed, I want the program to recalculate the value displayed in column 4.

I'm not really sure how this is done since I'm still a big newb with Objective C. :D Could someone provide some information or some sample code? Thanks!

* Update: Okay, I figured out how to make that last column editable so I removed that section of the question. I didn't realize it was as easy as selecting the column and unchecking the "Editable" box. :)

kainjow

Moderator emeritus
Jun 15, 2000
Are you using bindings, or a datasource? If bindings, you'll need to observe the array for changes to those fields. If using a datasource, you need to implement tableView:setObjectValue:forTableColumn:row:. With either one you need to get the selected object and calculate and update Current Balance based on the other values, then reload the table.

elorc

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 1, 2009
Sorry it's been a while. :) ok so I'm making some progress here but I hit an issue I'm not quite sure I understand.

Code:
- (void)observeValueForKeyPath:(NSString *)keyPath ofObject:(id)object change:(NSDictionary *)change context:(void *)context
{
	if ([keyPath isEqual:@"finalBalance"])
	{
		NSLog(@"No need to update for finalBalance.");
		return;
	}

NSUndoManager *undo = [self undoManager];
	id oldValue = [change objectForKey:NSKeyValueChangeOldKey];

if (oldValue == [NSNull null])
	{
		oldValue = nil;
	}

if ([keyPath isEqual:@"usersName"])
	{
		NSLog(@"Don't update for usersName change");
	}
	else
	{
		// Update finalBalance