Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ProjectManager101

Suspended
Original poster
Jul 12, 2015
Hi

I am looking into a dslr camera for pictures and video, I am not a pro but I like to dig into stuff. I was told about the Nikon D3300 and so far it sounds very goo for the price but I was told by a friend who is a profesional photographer to go with Canon. Now, I haven't found a good equivalent to the Nikon in the same price range. I was told to look into Sony too.

I want to take portrait pictures and some videos for Youtube. I really like to get a good photography with depth of field.

Please let me know your opinions. Thank you.

Flunkyturtle

macrumors 6502
Dec 20, 2011
Hi

I am looking into a dslr camera for pictures and video, I am not a pro but I like to dig into stuff. I was told about the Nikon D3300 and so far it sounds very goo for the price but I was told by a friend who is a profesional photographer to go with Canon. Now, I haven't found a good equivalent to the Nikon in the same price range. I was told to look into Sony too.

I want to take portrait pictures and some videos for Youtube. I really like to get a good photography with depth of field.

I have the D3300 and i love it, does everything i ask of it and the battery is amazing.

Unless i've not seen the setting, it doesn't do video though? I could be wrong though

EDIT - Just googled it, yes i'm being a tit and it does do video.

I recommend Nikon, it just works and delivers beautiful results .

Apple fanboy

macrumors Ivy Bridge
Feb 21, 2012
Behind the Lens, UK
Hi

A good depth of field is achieved by using the right settings and good glass (low f number). So a 1.8 lens will achieve a shallower depth of field than a 3.5.

I started with the D3200 and the kit 18-55 mm lens. It was a nice little bundle and several of the semi pro photographers I know were impressed with the quality.