Not being able to Record Voice into G5 w/ OS X 10.3.8?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Soulstorm, Mar 27, 2005.

  1. Soulstorm macrumors 68000

    Soulstorm

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    #1
    I just can't. I connnect a microphone into my G5's Line in (see my g5 specs in my sig) and I change the system sound preferences to Audio Line In input. And I cannot record my voice... Why? Is there something I misseD?
     
  2. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #2
    Mike voltage levels are way below line-in levels.
    You need a pre-amp of some sort between the microphone & the Mac...
     
  3. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
  4. Soulstorm thread starter macrumors 68000

    Soulstorm

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    #4
  5. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #5
    "There are a myriad of different signal levels one can encounter in analog audio, but there are three ranges one is most likely to deal with: Microphone level, -10dB line-level and +4 dB line level.

    Microphone level is usually somewhere in the range of 40-60dB lower than line level, and those signals need to be amplified before going to tape, or a mixer channel, or digital converters"


    Pre-amplifier
     
  6. point665 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    #6
    Get either iMic or a USB mic... I tried explaining this to a PC user and only got laughed at... Its for professionals... whereas a PC you would need a high end sound card for this.
     

Share This Page