Not enough memory for lion...

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by adkrogh, Feb 12, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    #1
    I have tried to purchase Lion and it said that I don't have enough memory. I have 76 MB of free 'system memory'. Disk usage says I have 275 GB of free memory on my internal hard drive and 500 GB free on my external... So... what do I have to do to be able to get Lion? AND what is the difference between 'system memory' and 'free memory'. Thanks!
     
  2. macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #2
    You are confusing memory (RAM) and disk space, I think.
     
  3. macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
    #3
    This.


    Go to the Apple Logo > About this Mac > It says how much RAM you have. Chances are, it's less than what Lion requires.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    #4
    Yup. Not enough RAM. So... is there a way to get more RAM?
     
  5. macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #5
    What type of mac do you have? Most allow the user to upgrade the RAM.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    #6
    iMac 5 w/ OS 10.6.8 (it's old, I'm poor... :()
     
  7. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    You can find specs on all Apple products, including maximum RAM:
    • By visiting EveryMac.com: Actual Maximum RAM
    • By using Mactracker
    • By entering your serial number here to find specs for your model. (Be aware that some models can use more RAM than Apple shows. Check EveryMac or MacTracker to verify actual usable RAM.)
     

Share This Page