Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JawneeWin

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 24, 2013
I'm a college student currently using a 13'' macbook air to take my notes with. It works wonderfully. One flaw about using the macbook is that it's a pain in my science classes not being able to draw quick diagrams or sketches during lectures as the professor is drawing and explaining. This is why I have a notebook in my backpack as well... which kind of ruins the point of going "digital". Also, the notebook won't fit on my classroom's desks with a macbook on it. I was thinking of swapping out the macbook air, and going with an iPad Pro, and going split screen with my textbook on one side, and note taking on the other. THEN, I'd be going completely digital.

Does anyone else use their iPad Pros with their Apple Pencils for note taking? How is it?
Any other suggestions?

friedmud

macrumors 65816
Jul 11, 2008
Yes. It's awesome. Like, completely awesome. I'm currently doing my PhD in Computational Nuclear Engineering... so I know what you mean about science notes ;-)

There are a lot of options for which App to use. I have posted a pretty huge list/review of them over here:

https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/app-for-strictly-taking-notes.1950982/#post-22474535

(also: attached to that post is an image of what some of my science notes look like in Notability)

TLDR: Notability and Goodnotes are currently the best. OneNote works if you like Microsoft stuff.

JawneeWin

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 24, 2013
Yes. It's awesome. Like, completely awesome. I'm currently doing my PhD in Computational Nuclear Engineering... so I know what you mean about science notes ;-)

There are a lot of options for which App to use. I have posted a pretty huge list/review of them over here:

https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/app-for-strictly-taking-notes.1950982/#post-22474535