NTT demonstrates largest capacity transmission over single optical fibre

Discussion in 'Current Events' started by irmongoose, Sep 29, 2006.

  1. irmongoose macrumors 68030

    irmongoose

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Location:
    Sometimes Tokyo, sometimes California
    #1
    Link.

    There is also an interesting bit at the end:

    Hooray for high speed networks! :D




    irmongoose
     
  2. runplaysleeprun macrumors 6502a

    runplaysleeprun

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
  3. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
  4. Killyp macrumors 68040

    Killyp

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    #4
    Oh great, so the rest of the world will be downloading stuff faster than their hard drives can store it, whilst we'll all be sat here in the UK with BT refusing to upgrade out telephone exchanges so we can get more than 512kbps broadband (some places can't get broadband at all, and BT still refuses to do anything).
     
  5. dextertangocci macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #5
    You think you have it bad in the UK:rolleyes:

    In South Africa, the fastest broadband available is 1MBPS (which I have:) ), and it may be replaced by 4MBPS in 6 months time.

    The prices are insane - we pay R1900 ($245) per month for a 1MBPS connection, with a 6GB cap:mad: An extra 1GB of data is R99 ($13).
     
  6. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #6

    Not sure that would be a good idea Counterfit, doing so could cause you to explode into a million pieces. ;) :D
     
  7. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #7
    On the 512kbps myself. Cannot get any faster. My aunt and uncle who live further up in the hills can somehow get 1mbps.

    silly BT. silly sausage.
     
  8. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #8
    With that connection, I can upload and download my entire hard drive 20 times in one second :D
     
  9. Spaceman Spiff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    #9
    Small hard drive? Keep in mind that's not terabytes, that's terabits. So the 14Tbps is 1.75TBps. So if your uploading 20 times and downloading 20 times, that's around a 40 gigabyte hard drive.

    Still extremely impressive, though.




    What cables could one use to actually get these 100Gbps speeds in a home computer setup, I wonder?
     
  10. irmongoose thread starter macrumors 68030

    irmongoose

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Location:
    Sometimes Tokyo, sometimes California
    #10
    Well the next generation of ethernet standards support up to 40Gbps, which would most probably be enough to support a 100Gbps network (which in reality would be much lower than that once it reaches the home).



    irmongoose
     
  11. obeygiant macrumors 68040

    obeygiant

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Location:
    totally cool
    #11
    thats great. fiber optic bandwidth is supposed to be unlimited.
     
  12. NextTuesday macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland
    #12
    I live in the suburbs of my town (10 minute max walk from the town centre) and I can't get broadband, but the estate (sub-division for people in America-land) across the road from mine can get Broadband, a 20-minute drive to my friends house in the middle of no-where and he has a 6MB/s ADSL connection... gah! Dial-up annoys me! I've tried everything, even e-mailed the government but they just sold off eircom (equivalent of BT over here) and so they couldn't do anything but tell me they never updated my exchange due to lack of interest, despite my friend getting 6MB/s in the middle of no-where, never mind 60+ houses not getting Broadband..
     
  13. Cube54 macrumors regular

    Cube54

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #13
    Look on the bright side NextTuesday...Enjoy your dial-up.

    When I lived & worked in Ireland (Bray/Blackrock) '79-80s it took 2 years to even get a Telephone in your house, not to mention 1 year more to actually make it work.

    Street lights that came on only when some one actually remembered to 'thow the switch'.

    No phone-books & The entire Dublin area directory-assistance breaking down for days on end (Busy Signal!! - when it worked it was 200+ rings until some answered and said .....
     
  14. Shadow macrumors 68000

    Shadow

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Keele, United Kingdom
    #14
    I have 1mbps. Its actually quite slow.

    Dig this, at school today I downloaded Vista Pre-RC1 in 10 mins. Yes. TEN!
     
  15. Cube54 macrumors regular

    Cube54

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #15
    And 10 mins. after you installed it you got a virus :D
     
  16. SBT macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #16
    Mine is 2mbps and is good. It does the job anyway and pages only take a few seconds to load. On my desktop (it's a PC..NOOOOO) i have got the internet connection to 2.7mbps:eek:. But i always break it or slow it down trying to change the router settings:p :D
     
  17. Shadow macrumors 68000

    Shadow

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Keele, United Kingdom
    #17
    Just enough time for me to get sick of it :D :p!
     

Share This Page