Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

katyoshi

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 11, 2009
Honolulu, HI
Hey guys, I've been thinking about this for a while now. I was on my family's T-mobile family plan for $10/month and I had a blackberry before with internet and unlimited messaging which I didn't use close to 1,000 message per month no matter how hard I tried in my busy schedule, and now I have a used iphone 3g. I'm a graduate nursing student and also work in a high data/email using work environment at a nursing school as a nursing graduate assistant so I get monthly salary. I had to get off my family's phone plan because my dad said he had too much bills and now that I can afford my own phone plan, he wants me to go! :(
Anyway, I was always thinking of going with AT&T for the 3GS and the 3G speed since my work demands fast emails and internet usage on my school websites for classes. I planned to sell my 3G iphone for a new 3GS.
When I was tipsy last night, I went onto apple's website and signed up for a new 16gb black 3GS and an ATT's lowest voice plan with 1500 texts/month = $84.99/month before taxes compared to t-mobile's $74.99 of data+unlimited messaging and 3G but no iphone which i really wanted. Do you think I made a right choice? Is ATT really that bad? I'm in Hawaii.

-aggie-

macrumors P6
Jun 19, 2009
Where bunnies are welcome.
Choice is really an indvidual thing. No one is going to be able to tell you what the right choice is for you. But if you really wanted an iPhone, then it's probably the right choice for you. AT&T is really not that bad, but there are threads about that. You'll hear both sides arguing the opposite. Again, it's really an individual thing. You have up to 30 days to return the iPhone though w/o incurring an ETF, so try it out and see for yourself

tlbwriter

macrumors regular
Nov 21, 2008